Good Things // 7.14.17

It’s Friday, so that means one thing, right? Another installment of “Good Things” here on Unfinished Business.

OK, so maybe you thought that meant something else, but you’re already here, so why don’t you just peruse a few of the good things from my life this week and try to think of a few in your own?

With no further ado . . .

  • Blueberry muffins from Dozen. I tweeted awhile back that they were my love language, and I really wasn’t joking.
  • A/C. Have you guys been outside at all this week? Here in Nashville, it’s been pretty miserable. I’m thankful for working A/C this week. Because let’s be honest, I’d pretty much be dead without it.
  • Hope. I started this week a little down. I’ve had a cold all week and am now on the upswing, but I also just felt emotionally exhausted and bogged down, really convinced of my “not-good-enough-ness.” But the other night, I was reading Scripture and Romans 15:13 shone like a beacon on the page of my Bible: “I pray that God, the source of hope, will fill you completely with joy and peace because you trust in him. Then you will overflow with confident hope through the power of the Holy Spirit.” I felt hope flood me. Because my “good-enough-ness” isn’t what He’s looking for. It’s for my trust, and in trusting Him, I find hope.
  • This guy. When you’re not feeling well, he’s your best friend.586E590D-40E9-4F95-AEF3-D046F6A02FE1
  • When persistence on a project pays off. I am hopefully reaping the harvest of some of that persistence this afternoon.
  • Things to look forward to, from dinner with friends to seeing my brother and his family to a night of good music on a so-called “school night” with a good friend.
  • Opportunities that come from nowhere. I’ve been trying to increase my freelance opportunities and this week an unexpected offer came out of the blue.
  • Movies that make you feel something. I watched the movie Before We Go about a year or more ago on Netflix. A few months later, I saw it on Netflix again and rewatched it. Last weekend, I bought it on Amazon Video. While the Chris Evans-directed film didn’t get a lot of attention and actually seems to be disliked by almost everyone, I like it. And I don’t mind that the ending leaves things a little up in the air—because I have an imagination!

Leave a Reply

