An open door

On July 31, I gathered up the few items left in my office, logged out of the computer one last time, and quietly slipped away to my car.

I was walking away from a job I’d had for 12 years, from people I loved who had become like family. The thought of not seeing them every day brought tears to my eyes and a lump in my throat.

I cried. A lot. So much so that when I thought about it later, I was embarrassed.

Making the decision to leave was hard. I had known for awhile that my time in my previous job was probably coming to a close, but I didn’t got looking for a new  job. It found me—and God opened the door to allow me into a new chapter and a new opportunity that challenges and excites me.

I don’t know what the future holds. I don’t know what the next chapter of my life will be like. But I do know that I have to walk through the doors that God opens.

So, I’ll keep walking. . . and let Him write my story.

One thought on “An open door”

Leave a Reply

