Not Alone

This weekend, a friend of mine has had to make tough decisions about his mother’s care, knowing that she may be facing the end of her life here.

They’ve weighed heavy on my mind, and I haven’t know what to say.

Because what do you say to someone in that position?

“I know how you feel” is trite and untrue. You can only say “I’m sorry” so many times before it feels too little, too.

So, I’ve prayed with tears in my eyes and asked that God’s peace that passes understanding fall on that family. I used to think that phrase meant that God gives us a peace the world won’t understand, but I’m not sure I think that anymore. I think, now, that sometimes, it’s a peace that comes even when we don’t understand what He’s doing because we know He’s trustworthy.

And in this time, I’ve become even more convinced that Jesus understands our grief. That His words are true and He is with us always, that He will never leave us or forsake us. And that we can rest because our loved one is in His hands, too.

In the pit of grief, it can feel like you’re alone. But Jesus’ own words tell us we’re not. He is with us. He will not leave us. He is not afraid of our fears, sorrow, doubts, and sadness. He understands.

“Here is the world. Beautiful and terrible things will happen. Don’t be afraid.”

—Frederick Buechner

2 thoughts on “Not Alone”

  1. Pastor Gene said something is the first service that speaks to your post, he may not have in the second. He talked about Jesus being the one who can go with you into the unknown. I can’t go with a loved one through their illness or death’s door, but Jesus can, and does. That is our comfort when we can’t help or follow them through the journey. Jesus goes before, He is beside, He is behind.

Leave a Reply

