The Day I Returned to the Gym

Yesterday, in the span of 10 minutes, I:

A) somehow lost my YMCA id card on my way into the building. I had it in my hand 5 minutes earlier!
B) discovered my earrings (favorites from a trip to Colorado) were missing from my ears.
C) realized I hadn’t packed the shirt I thought I had in my gym bag and now had to work out in a ridiculous shirt that isn’t very comfy.
D) All of the above

Let’s just say that all answer D pretty much describes yesterday, a day I had decided was my triumphant return to the gym. Yes, I haven’t seen the inside of the gym since sometime right around Thanksgiving, but that’s nothing, right? I can jump back in to cardio intensity after weeks of long hours at work and evenings spent either doing housework or flopping on my couch in exhaustion, right?

Well, the answer is yes.

And no.

6996457189_d8f50d42a4_zThe elliptical was harder than I remembered and I know any sort of outdoor running at this point would end in me crying . . . or hyperventilating as I tried to breathe. So, my return to the gym was quiet, without fanfare, and a little more frustrating than I had bargained for.But at least this time I didn’t fall off any machinery.

Which has happened.

And people stare when you fall off a stairmaster then laugh uproariously at yourself.

But, people, come on! If you can’t laugh at yourself, your life must be kind of sad and boring.

(I say this because I laugh at myself a lot and I want to to try to hang on to the idea that my life is not sad and/or boring.)

Anyway, the hope is that I can keep my gym workouts going over the next few weeks, rather than dissolving into a puddle of self-pity after extremely tedious days and easing those sorrows with pie. Yes, pie.

So, here goes nothing! My goal this week is to go to the gym at least twice and continue my stretching/pilates-based workouts at home 5 days a week.

All of that so I can still eat that pie every once and awhile and not have to buy new jeans. 🙂

Leave a Reply

