A new year, a fresh start

947375_31536446It’s January 29, and I haven’t even compiled my book list for 2013. That just tells you a little of how this year has gone so far.

Actually, most of the time, I’ve felt like I’ve been in a whirlwind, making decisions about big stuff at work, when to have dental surgery, and everything else in the world.

And, truth be told, my great plan to read 30 books in 2012 fell really, really flat. . . .I’m fairly sure I was barely into double digits before I just quit.

So, dear ones, it’s another year and another chance. Over the next week, I’ll be compiling my list of books to read in 2013. While I tend to lean heavily toward fiction, I do like to throw in a little non-fiction or biography here or there. I like to include classics and newer fiction. And I always put a little Jane Austen on the list.

But before I jump in and consult all my sources (best book lists, NPR lists, the books on my list from last year that I didn’t read), I want to ask you to chime in. In the comments, sound off on books you think I would enjoy or should read—and include author, title, and reasons why you think I would like it or should read it. This time next week, I’ll unveil the list!

Ready! Set! Go!

5 thoughts on “A new year, a fresh start”

  1. I’m going to recommend 2 books I haven’t even read myself yet:
    1) “The Shack” by William P. Young – Comes highly recommended by my entire Sunday School class (our teacher suggested we all read it, I just haven’t gotten around to it yet).
    2) “The Bridge” by Karen Kingsbury – It’s on my Kindle, but again, I haven’t had time to start it yet. This one just seems like you (even though I know you’re not a fan of Christian fiction)…it’s set in Nashville and an old bookstore in downtown Franklin…a love story in a bookstore, it has to be good, right? 🙂

    1. Sorry, hit the button too soon. It doesn’t really fall into any of the fiction/classic/bio categories and if you read the blurbs you will skip right over it. The subtitle is “An experimental mutiny against excess” I know you’re thinking, like I really want to read that in my leisure. It’s hysterical yet incredibly meaningful and makes you think about what you are doing in 7 different areas of your life. Good stuff.

  2. Also, “My Life in France” Julia Child & Alex Prud’Homme. If you liked Julie&Julia, this is the back story on why Julia Child is so amazing. Her life and love of her husband and food is just delicious and a joy to read. She finds her calling and enthusiastically pursues it. Downside, makes you hungry . . .

Leave a Reply

