First Thoughts

I’m not someone who usually wakes up with a coherent thought all organized and articulated.

I’m more of the shuffle-out-of-bed, rub-your-sleepy-eyes, try-to-figure-out-what-day-it-is kind of person. I might wake up with a song on my mind, but an entire sentence or a verse of Scripture? That just doesn’t happen on a daily basis. During a particularly dark, worrisome, fearful time in my life,  I woke up with John 16:33 on my lips: “I have told you this things so that in Me you may have peace. You will have suffering in this world. Be courageous! I have conquered the world.”

I regarded that Scripture as a gift from the Lord and a prompting from the Holy Spirit that morning. And I haven’t woken up with a verse on my mind like that since then.

Until Sunday morning, when I woke up thinking about Colossians 3:23: “Whatever you do, do it enthusiastically, as something done for the Lord and not for men.” It rolled around the back of my head all day Sunday as I went to church, served in the choir, nursery, and helped with teens on Sunday night. It kept coming to mind on Monday morning as I sat at my desk and looked at my to-do list.

Don’t get me wrong: I love my job. I love magazines, planning them, editing them, and watching them move from idea to completed product. I love the process of fitting together all the pieces that in the end will tell one story and point to the Truth. I think I could do that all day long for years and not get tired of it. I love the thrill of a changing industry and trying to figure out what to do next and how to shepherd content and put it into the best possible format for people who still want it, but probably won’t read a traditional print magazine. I love it!

But I’ve been so incredibly tired lately, caught off guard and confused by new assignments and ideas. But Colossians 3:23 came at an opportune time, reminding me that how I work says something about my God, my Savior. And even if I’m not always doing my favorite tasks, I am working for the Lord in all I do. So, let’s do that today. Enthusiastically!

Leave a Reply

