I forget

I forget sometimes that it’s not all about me.

Yes, the last few weeks of work have been stressful. I’ve been working long hours, taking short lunches, and working on weekends. I’ve had few moments of rest and lots of places I had to be. I’ve been here, there, and everywhere it seems. Friends have moved, visited, and life has just generally been busy.

And for the most part, that has been my focus. The next thing on my calendar. The next deadline. The next big task that has to be finished, room that needs to be cleaned, and bill that needs to be paid.

But last night, God used a Facebook status to refocus me.

Several months ago, a friend I know through a good friend of mine lost a child. She and her children were in a bad wreck and the baby, 2 years old or so, passed away soon after. The mom and her family have been such an example of what it means to walk in God’s grace and peace as they walked through this, truly wanting God to use the situation for His glory. But Laurie, the mom, has also been very honest as she’s walked through her grief, something I think Christians sometimes shy away from, thinking we have to somehow have it all together in our grief or know all the answers.

So when Laurie posted last night that she was trying with all her might to remember her baby’s smell, tears came to my eyes. I have known grief. I have lost people I’ve loved, seen friendships fall apart, and not gotten dreams I wanted. I know grief—but not this grief. Not the grief of a mother who has lost a child, a baby she’s held, nursed, whom she carried in her body for 9 long months.

And that moment of honesty in her Facebook status grounded me. While I had been worried, anxious, and self-important in my busy schedule and my burden of stress, Laurie had been walking through a deep loss. She isn’t alone and is seeking and trusting God in all things, but I know this valley she’s walking through isn’t easy. The burdens I was shouldering seemed somehow lighter in comparison. My perspective shifted with the reminder to look outside myself and see a world in need of hope, of peace, of a Savior.

So today, my prayer is simple: to open my eyes to the world around me and walk through their pain with them, if only for a little while. To remember that I am not the most important person in the world. To remember. To let God determine my perspective. To trust when it’s hard and believe that He is at work in situations that seem impossible.

Lord, open my eyes that I may see. Do not let me forget your promises or your hope. And give me your perspective in all things.

 

Leave a Reply

