A letter to my readers

Dear readers,
First off, thank you for continuing to read this blog—especially since you’ve probably noticed the lack of posts over the past few weeks.

Due to some unexpected changes at work, my workload has shifted and changed once again. With so many things in play these days, I generally hit the ground running at work, work hard all day, and go home tired.  And after sitting in front of the computer all day crafting my own words and refining others’, it’s hard to sit down at night and write some more. Particularly when there’s a pile of laundry, clothes that need to be put away, and dishes to wash. One of my coworkers says our state of mind right now at work is best described in the word scrambling.

Truth be told, I kind of think that describes more than my work life. I feel it in every area of my life. I’m scrambling and trying so hard to be a good friend, and feel like I’m not doing a very good job. I’m having trouble finding times when I can call my brother and actually talk—when I’m not in the “work zone” and he’s not dealing with a tractor breakdown or in the field. I feel like I’m missing out on my nephews growing up. My house feels a little like a wreck even when I know it’s not. I want to write, but sometimes it just seems to take too much energy, to demand more than I think I have to give. There are questions people have asked me about ways to serve at church that are just hanging out there unanswered, as I try to discern what God wants me to do and feel selfish by considering declining.

So, just stick with me for a while. We’ll get through this. In the meantime, I’ll try to find a blogging schedule I can stick with and hopefully, the words will come.

Thanks for reading, friends!

Leave a Reply

