Trust Me.

I don’t really write that much poetry—at least not since eighth grade.

But this morning, after reading a prayer written by Scotty smith in his book, Everyday Prayers, one kind of poured out onto the page. So, I thought I’d share it. (The prayer by Scotty that inspired this will follow the poem.) I’m not saying this poem is good or life-changing, but it’s a way of expressing myself in prayer to God.

Trust Me

Trust Me, He whispers softly,
though I kick and scream, push and pull against His will.
I call for an easy way out,
But He bids the storm inside me to be still.

Could these circumstances be Your tools?
Are You at work and my heart is in the crucible?
I want to be obedient, I say
—but I also want my way.

Trust. Trust. Trust Me,
You quietly repeat in the face of my loud defiance.
I am at work, You insist. I know what I’m doing.
It may feel like a mess, like chaos swirling out of control,
but always remember: I don’t let go.
I won’t let go of you.

Behold I am doing a new thing. Trust Me.

Trust Me.

Scotty Smith’s prayer is below.  You can find it here: http://thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/scottysmith/2010/10/05/a-prayer-about-hoping-in-god%E2%80%99s-unfailing-love/

Prayer About Hoping in God’s Unfailing Love

No king is saved by the size of his army; no warrior escapes by his great strength. A horse is a vain hope for deliverance; despite all its great strength it cannot save. But the eyes of the LORD are on those who fear him, on those whose hope is in his unfailing love. Psalm 33:16-18

Dear Jesus, though it is not fun, it is a good thing to come to the end of ourselves—to be in situations where all of our resources… all of our strength… all of wisdom are simply not enough.  Indeed, it is a gospel thing to feel the pain of whatever worked in the past, not working in the present moment… to feel the confusion of not knowing what to do next… to feel the helplessness of being out of contorl.

For only in those times do we fully abandon ourselves to the God who alone can part Red Seas… overthrown a whole Midianite army with 300 gun-less soldiers… take down Goliaths with a pebble… feed multitudes with a few fish and pieces of bread… raise a dead Man for the salvation of his people and the transformation of the cosmos.

Jesus, we come and abandon ourselves to you today, for you are that dead Man who now lives. You are the One who is redeeming his Bride and making all things new.  It is your unfailing love that we can and must hope in. There is no other supply sufficient to the need. There is no other strength sufficient for the task. There is no other balm sufficient for the pain. There is no other rest sufficient for the exhaustion. There is no hope sufficient for the crisis.

We bring our broken hearts to you. We bring our struggling marriages to you. We bring our divided churches to you. We bring our conflicted relationships to you. We bring our wayward children to you. We bring our unbelieving friends to you. We bring the needs of our community to you. We bring it all to you, Jesus. We will trust in you and your unfailing love. Astonish us by bringing much glory to yourself. So very Amen, we pray, in your merciful and mighty name.

Leave a Reply

