Rest. Be still. I’m not kidding.

I have trouble with resting.

I have a tendency to spend my time doing—cleaning house, cooking, laundry, work, writing, watering the plants, going to church, hanging out with friends, etc. and so on.

And truth be told, I work a lot. And I work hard. And sometimes, like this weekend, I work on Saturday.

Before I left my office on Saturday, I printed out some more work to take home with me that I could take a look at on Sunday afternoon. But when I woke up on Sunday morning, a gentle reminder came to rest. To set aside a day to rest in Him. To stop all the doing and take some time to just be. And I made a decision right then to let that work stay in my bag and to spend the Sunday doing the things I wanted to do—singing in worship, studying Scripture, drinking coffee, rocking a baby to sleep in the nursery, lunch with friends, planning and starting a sewing project, hearing an artist I’ve liked for a long time but never heard live sing in a park in downtown Nashville, sitting in the sun with a friend and laughing.

In the world we live in, it’s easy to get caught up in doing. Work and work hard. Work to the best of your ability and to please God.

But also learn the power of His rest and relish it.

2 thoughts on “Rest. Be still. I’m not kidding.”

  1. Great post! I feel like I’m in the same boat. I work and work and have recently been trying to make sure I make time for rest, fam & friends, and ultimately God. It’s like there’s not enough hours in the day. But I also decided on Sunday to stop, rest, and enjoy the presence of God around me. It was truly refreshing. Gott do it more!

Leave a Reply

