On the Road Again: 12 miles and the home stretch

No, you’re not confused. It is Friday. And I am just now posting the recap of last weekend’s 12-mile run.

UntitledLet’s just keep it brief: it was hard. I woke up last Saturday feeling very congested and stopped up, which worried me since breathing is—well, you know—important to running. My running partner was emotionally and physically spent after a long week and an even longer semester (she’s a professor). And neither of us wanted to run last Saturday morning. A sleeping-in day would have been so, so nice!

But as Alisha said, Saturday was about running because we had to. So we did. The first couple of miles weren’t that bad. I started feeling really bad somewhere between miles 2 and 3 when we were running up a grade that didn’t seem like it would ever level out. For the first time this training season, I thought I was going to throw up. And I was wheezing like I had emphesema. But we persevered and after we got a little further into the run, my lungs seemed to relax and I felt pretty good for the rest of the run.

That’s not to say our run was ideal. There were A LOT of walking breaks. My running partner kept saying she was really hot when it wasn’t that hot out. Plus, I nearly ran out of water with 2 miles left to go. So when we ran across a water station set up outside one of the businesses along Music Row for the many people doing training runs on the marathon course, I filled up my water bottle. It was cold and AMAZING! Granted, later, I handed it to my running partner and made her splash some on her face later when she said she was really hot again.

But despite all of that, we persevered and covered the distance. I’m hoping we cover the distance a bit faster on race day, but at least we finished! And we only have shorter runs from here on out. Until race day. I’ll see you along the course!

So here’s Week 11′s run by the numbers:

Distance: 12 miles
Location: The course of the Country Music Half Marathon (it happens on April 28, people!)
Time: 2:27:20
Average pace: 12’16”
If you want to see it on GPS, go here: http://nikerunning.nike.com/nikeos/p/nikeplus/en_US/plus/#//runs/gps/1625581486/1293947337/

As I train for the half marathon, you’ll see more posts like this. I’m planning to document each long run, so you’ll get to come alongside me for every mile, every irrational I-hate-running-and-why-did-I-sign-up-for-this moment, and every completely random adventure that happens along the way.
Leave a Reply

