On the Road Again: 10 Miles (Take 2)

It seems like we’ve been training for this race forever; and like we only started yesterday. I think that’s why it kind of snuck up on us that this past weekend was our second 10 mile run in preparation for the half marathon on April 28.

UntitledLet’s just chat a little about this weekend’s run. First off, since my running partner and I both work for Christian organizations (me a publishing house; she’s a professor at a Christian college), we’d had Friday off. That should have been a restful day, but I really don’t think either of us did much resting. Plus, my dog had a minor dental surgery on Friday. (Seriously, if you knew how much my dog’s teeth have cost me since January OF THIS YEAR! you would be scandalized!) The surgery was really minor, but my dog is really old and sometimes the after-effects of anesthesia are hard on her. She woke me up twice in the night crying, and I finally just got up around 6:30 or 6:45 on Saturday morning and fed her and gave her some pain meds. (Eventually, she did come out of the anesthesia fog and seems OK now.) So I got up early, ate some breakfast and did some housework before Alisha came. I was grumpy and working on getting in a better mood because who wants to run 10 miles with GrumpyPants? Not me!

So around 8:30 we headed out to Crockett Park for our run. Alisha wanted to shorten the running intervals to run 5 minutes, walk 2, and since I didn’t really want to run or do it alone, I was fine with that. It turned out to be a pretty good move. We stuck to the intervals except for a few extended walking breaks, me calling for one just after the halfway point, her requesting one at the end of mile 7. And according to Nike+, our fastest mile was the tenth mile! (That’s just weird!) Death never seemed imminent and our overall time improved some from our 10-mile time two weeks ago, so I’m counting this one as a good run!

So here’s Week 9′s run by the numbers:

Distance: 9 miles
Location: Crockett Park and trails
Time: 1:57:47
Average pace: 11’45”
If you want to see it on GPS, go here: http://nikerunning.nike.com/nikeos/p/nikeplus/en_US/plus/#//runs/gps/1625581486/958632677/

As I train for the half marathon, you’ll see more posts like this. I’m planning to document each long run, so you’ll get to come alongside me for every mile, every irrational I-hate-running-and-why-did-I-sign-up-for-this moment, and every completely random adventure that happens along the way.
Leave a Reply

