A good day

Yesterday was a good day.

That’s a little weird to say, because yesterday was also a day in which nothing out of the ordinary really happened. I didn’t get extremely good news or see a long-lost friend. Some people might even look at my yesterday and say that nothing really happened.

But I’m not sure that’s quite true.

A prayer was answered. A friend found something dear to her that had been lost. Hope bloomed in a dark place. I got to do work on devotions and a magazine I love, and at the end of the day, I was proud of my work. Those devotions may help teens I will never meet grow deeper in relationship with Christ. Yesterday was full of laughter, unexpected conversations, chances to encourage friends and family. I turned the radio off and sang old hymns and spiritual songs at the top of my lungs and drove around in the sunshine, reveling in the bright blue skies. I hung out with a friend I haven’t got to see much lately and listened to some good local songwriter sing their songs. I had that moment that sometimes happens at concerts and songwriters rounds when I just know I’m blessed to be there and to experience the moment. I had an unexpected meal at Burger Up. I went to bed tired, but with a smile on my face.

It was a good day.

And, truth be told, I haven’t had as many of those good days lately as I would like. But today, as I push aside worry, stress, and the fear of deadlines, I’m ready for more.

Let’s have another good day today!

 

Leave a Reply

