Don’t give up.

Yesterday, when I set out for my 4-mile run, my mood couldn’t have been lower.

I was tired, stressed, unsure, a bit confused. I’m living in a certain amount of uncertainty about a lot of things these days, and, sometimes, it’s easier for me to get lost in it than to stand strong.

So this morning, when it was time to sit down and spend some time reading Scripture, part of me resisted. And that part of me resisted for a reason: If I read Scripture, I knew God would show me that something had to change. And I wasn’t sure I wanted to take off the whole familiar, comfortable attitude of “No one loves me/I’m not good enough/No one cares” I’d wrapped around myself like an oversized sweater.

Over the past few days, God’s Word has been clear.

“The Lord will fight for you; you must be quiet.” Exodus 14:14

Those are Moses’ words to the Israelites when the Egyptians are chasing them. You know, right before the Red Sea. “I keep my promises,” God whispered to my heart. “Trust me. And be quiet.”

Tough words when complaining would be easier.

“Indeed, everything is for your benefit, so that grace, extended through more and more people, may cause thanksgiving to increase God’s glory.” 2 Corinthians 4:15

Everything is for your benefit. I pondered that phrase this morning. Even the things that don’t feel like it right now—the things that are stressful, confusing, and uncertain. They are the things through which God will display His glory.

My uncertain prayer was that it would be so. And that God would give me the faith to trust Him.

“Therefore we do not give up. Even though our outer person is being destroyed, our inner person is being renewed day by day. For our momentary light affliction is producing for us an absolutely incomparable eternal weight of glory. So we do not focus on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” 2 Corinthians 4:16-18

“Remember what’s important,” God keeps whispering to my heart. And the things that are important aren’t the things I’ve spent so much time worrying about. God knows what He’s doing. And His message to me over and over and over these last few works has been simple: Don’t give up.

Keep going. Persevere. Love My people, serve My church, live out My love. Don’t listen to these temporary concerns and worries. Focus on what’s eternal. Set your eyes on Me.

You may feel the same way today. Don’t give up.

The Lord will fight for you.

He has a plan and purpose.

He is good.

The Story is true.

 

Leave a Reply

