On the Road Again: A runner’s chronicle

Maybe we were in a fit of euphoria as 2011 was about to fade into 2012 or maybe we just remembered how good it felt to finish 13.1 miles last year, but at the end of last year my friend Alisha and I signed up to run the Country Music half marathon again.

That was all well and good at the end of January, when the only thing about the half marathon I remembered was how it felt to cross the finish line and the insanely irrational argument I had picked with Alisha about something incredibly stupid at mile 12. But as January drew to a close and real training started, all the stuff I’d forgotten about came back. Squeezing longer runs into an already crammed work week. Early Saturday morning runs. Sore calves. Not getting to sleep in. Ever. Wheezing. Being that kind of chubby girl huffing along in 24 degree temperatures when everyone else is inside sipping hot chocolate—or at least that’s what I imagine they were doing.

This past weekend, the weather turned off fairly mild and Alisha and headed out 20120221-201312.jpgfor our 5 mile long run around 9 a.m. on Saturday. Before going, I made the mistake of looking up the meticulous training records I had kept last year and discovering that our run/walk segments were significantly longer than what we’re running this year.

While the first mile felt a little like death, we managed to run about 12.5 minute miles (hey, I never claimed to be fast and never will!) for the entire run. And some random couple seemed impressed by our tenacity. Which has to count for something, right?

Whatever the cost to my calves (they hurt), we completed Week 2’s 5 mile run. Here it is, by the numbers:

Distance: 5 miles
Location: Long Hunter State Park
Time: 1:02:49
Average pace: 12’31”

As I train for the half marathon, you’ll see more posts like this. I’m planning to document each long run, so you’ll get to come alongside me for every mile, every irrational I-hate-running-and-why-did-I-sign-up-for-this moment, and every completely random adventure that happens along the way.
Leave a Reply

