Food for Thought: Crock Pot French Dip Sandwiches

Admission: I’m the French dip sandwich’s biggest fan.

And if you’re ever in the South, stop in at a Rafferty’s restaurant and get one of theirs. You won’t be sorry! I mean there’s the bread and the roast beef and the melty cheese. What’s not to like?

But I digress. As I said in my first recipe post this year, I edited the 100th anniversary cookbook for my church at the end of last year. One of the very first recipes I edited was one for crock pot French dip sandwiches, and I’ve wanted to make it ever since. Finally, last week, I pulled together all the ingredients and made it happen—and I’m going to share it all with you!

20120207-201630.jpg

The recipe:

1 chuck roast (3-4 lbs.)
2 cans beef consommé
1 pkg. Italian dressing seasoning (I used Lipton’s onion soup seasoning b/c it’s what I had on hand.)
1 pkg. of rolls/buns
Swiss or provolone cheese, if desired

What to do:

Pour the two cans of consommé into the crock pot. Place the chuck roast (defrosted, if you got it out of the freezer) in the crock pot and sprinkle the seasoning over the top of the meat. See, EASY! Cook the meat in your crock pot for 6 to 8 hours. The recipe in the cookbook says to cook it on high for that long, but I really don’t think that’s a great idea—at least with my crock pot. I cooked it for that long on low and it was PERFECT.

When you get home from work or wherever, toast the rolls/buns in the oven with a little butter, then place the meat on the rolls and top with a bit of cheese, if you’d like. Use the juice left in the crock pot as the au jus. And be prepared to eat your weight in roast beef and au jus, because it’s delicious!

I served mine with oven baked rosemary-Parmesan fries. Recipe follows.

Oven baked Rosemary-Parmesan fries

3-4 large potatoes, depending on size and how many people you’re serving
1 to 1 1/2 teaspoons garlic salt
1 to 1 1/2 teaspoons black pepper
Rosemary to taste (I used fresh chopped rosemary and it was about 1 1/2 teaspoons. Use less if using dried herbs.)
1/3 cup Parmesan cheese, finely grated
1/2 cup olive oil (give or take)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Wash and peel the potatoes if desired. Cut into wedges or fries. Place in a bowl, sprinkle with seasonings and herbs, then toss with olive oil. Make sure the potatoes are all coated with the mixture. Place the potatoes in a single layer on a cookie sheet. Bake for 45 minutes, until the potatoes are browned and crunchy. While the fries are still warm, toss with the Parmesan cheese. And enjoy!

20120207-201646.jpg

One thought on “Food for Thought: Crock Pot French Dip Sandwiches”

Leave a Reply

