A song in my heart

Sometimes, I find myself humming a tune and don’t even know I’m doing it.

Sometimes, I’m not even doing it out loud. I’ll just be brushing my teeth, drying my hair, or some other daily task and realize there’s music in my brain, then figure out what it is.

Then there are the days I wake up singing a song, rising out of bed with the lyrics and tune fully intact, as if I’d been singing them all night long in my dreams. And who knows, maybe I have.

But it’s those songs that I tend to pay attention to, the ones that pop into my brain out of the blue at a moment when I needed to hear that lyric or understand something. I don’t think those moments are accidents, but rather a little nudge from the Holy Spirit to pay attention to something.

And lately, there have been two songs on repeat in my brain: “You Will Find Me” by Andrew Ripp and “Psalm 46” by Jenny and Tyler. Let me explain:

“You Will Find Me” is from Andrew Ripp’s She Remains the Same album. I ran across the song after I bought the album on iTunes after a night when he wowed me with his performance at a Lightning 100 Sunday Night show. (I’ve actually written about this song before.) In a time of my life when so many things have felt out-of-control and confusing, when I felt tired, broken, and faithless, this song has kind of become a theme song of sorts. It’s popped into my mind as I’ve read emails at work, when I was upset, or was the song my heart was singing this morning when the alarm went off. He (Jesus) will find me. I am not alone. He has called my name, and I am not the same. He is in control. All lessons I need to hear again and again.

The other song that’s been haunting me, popping into my brain at the strangest time, like during the middle of a tornado watch at 1 a.m. as I sat in my safe place with a dog with Frankenstein stitches down the side of her face shaking on my lap, is “Psalm 46.” It’s by Jenny and Tyler, a husband and wife duo from Nashville I heard several months ago at the Bluebird as part of a Music City Unsigned show. I liked the song then, but after I downloaded a few of their songs from their album Faint Not, it’s the one I’ve played over and over. In the middle of literal and metaphorical storms, it’s been a good reminder that God knows what He’s doing, that He is faithful, and that above all, I can trust Him, even when life feels like it’s falling apart at the seams and even when I don’t understand His plan at all. Hallelujah, He is with me.

“And remember, I am with you always, to the end of the age.” —Matthew 28:20

Leave a Reply

