The day in which I am outsmarted by showers, conditioner, and my hair dryer

I’m a morning person. Really I am.

Not a first-thing-in-the-morning, 5-a.m.-is-awesome kind of person, but once I get up and I’ve had a few minutes, I’m generally in a fairly decent mood.

Then, today happened.

First off, my dog has been sick. She’s got really bad teeth and has developed an awful infection because of it. So she feels terrible and her little face and neck are swollen. She’s been on antibiotics and pain pills for several days, and every morning I wake up hoping she’s improved significantly during the night.

She hasn’t. And a week of waking up and having your hopes dashed can be kind of depressing. Today started like that.

And it was more than a little bit of a downer. When you love a dog and you’ve had her for 13 years, you’re sad when she’s not feeling well. Or, if you’re not, you have a heart of stone!

After breakfast and some quiet time reading Scripture and journaling, I was somewhat more prepared to meet the day, or at least more focused on the fact that God is in control and I need to let some things go.

So then it was time to get ready for work. I always turn the shower on when I go in the bathroom to brush my teeth and put in my contacts because it takes awhile for the hot water to get hot. I did that today and the whole time I was brushing my teeth and putting in my contacts, I thought it sounded weird. Louder than usual.

That’s because I turned on the faucet, but never pulled the lever to switch to the shower head. And apparently the thing that controls the drain on the bathtub was turned up, so the bathtub had been filling with water the whole time.

Great when you’re taking a bath; kind of useless when you’re taking a shower.

Then, I tried to wash my hair with conditioner and it took me a good few minutes to figure out why it wasn’t getting sudsy.

Then, after correcting the whole washing-my-hair-with-conditioner situation, it was time to dry my hair with the hair dryer. I recently had to get a new hairdryer when the cheap one I bought to replace one I really liked died unexpectedly. I thought that cheap hairdryer would only last a year or so. It lasted about six.

It finally died right before Christmas and I made do with my travel hairdryer until I could get a new one. It’s hot pink and has a retractable cord. And today, the retractable cord would NOT retract all the way. No matter how many times I tried. Finally, I gave up, wrapped the unretracted portion of the cord around the dryer, stuffed it in the cabinet and went downstairs to make a sandwich for my lunch.

Where I almost dropped the jar of pickles.

Needless to say, I’m happy I got to work with no incident.

And that I don’t smell like pickles.

Leave a Reply

