I really don’t have much to say

Except that there are now wrapped Christmas gifts under my Christmas tree. This is an improvement upon the unwrapped gifts that previously lived under there.

All the cookies I’m going to make, unless I help my mom make some (which is whole different ballgame and a nice family moment) are made.

I have one little gift to mail. A suitcase to pack.

Christmas is almost here. It’s all going so fast.

Tomorrow, I start a few days of vacation. There’s some travel in there, some fun, and hopefully a lot of relaxation. I need it. This year, by the time it was August, I had only taken about a day and half off from work. And that wasn’t a particularly good thing. It’s hard for me to take a break. I see all the things that need to be done and want things to be done well, often finding it hard to walk away. But I am for about a week and a half.

When I’m in Missouri, I’m going to be with the people I’m with. I’m going to enjoy my family, watch Mizzou basketball, and sleep in my old room at my parents’ house. I’ll see aunts and uncles and cousins. And I’ll make every effort not to worry about work or workload.

When I’m in Tennessee, I’ll rest. I’ll lay on my couch and watch a movie. I’ll cook. I’ll meet friends for coffee and fun. I’ll celebrate a friend’s birthday, take down my Christmas tree, and putter around my house. I’ll rebuke the thoughts of I should go write that week of devotions or I could write that story now.

It’s time for some vacation. Real vacation. And I’m going to make every effort to make sure it happens!

 

Leave a Reply

