Welcome back!

It’s kind of been a crazy, busy, stressful last few months. Simply put, there’s been a lot going on personally and professionally, the workload has been a bit overwhelming.

And I’ve felt exhausted, out-of-control, and under the weather. Actually, my insanely stupid drive to kill myself by working all the time wore me out and sent me into a sinus infection that really knocked me out. I honestly haven’t felt that bad in a long time.

But a week off, some time with the family, and much needed rest (and time away from all things work-related) can do a lot of good. And today, I feel a whole lot more like myself than I’ve felt in months, to be honest. I feel happy. Joyful. I still have much to do, but instead of feeling beaten down, exhausted and tired, I feel rejuvenated and ready to tackle the challenge—with some new guidelines in place for the sake of my sanity, personal life, and health.

Here are a few of them:

1. I will not work 10 hours a day. That’s been kind of par for the course in the last few months and it simply can’t continue. I will work my 8 hours and get the work done somehow and there may be a few occasions when working on a weekend is necessary. But I’m not killing myself anymore.

2. I will make sure Mandy’s “Fun Day” returns. . . or at least that I take a few hours each week to do stuff that I like, rather than scheduling my day from start to finish in order to get everything done.

3. I will get enough sleep. Even if I have to go to bed at 8:30 p.m.

4. I will say yes to things I am passionate about and skilled in and let the rest go. I can’t do everything and shouldn’t be expected to.

5. I will exercise.

6. I will make time for friends.

7. I will make sure I spend time reading Scripture and praying each day because I can tell the difference when I don’t.

8. I will write. Whether it’s on this blog, in my journal, or on the computer, I will spend a few minutes each week practicing the discipline of writing by just sitting in the chair and doing the work.

Some things simply have to change in my life in order for me to stay sane, healthy, and “rejoicing in hope,” as Romans 12:12 puts it.

And it starts today!

Leave a Reply

