A poem for today

(Don’t worry. I’m not depressed, pining after some guy, or brokenhearted. But last night, I just sat down to write and a poem was what emerged. So I’m sharing it with you.)

Dead Language

I try to tell you that I love you,
a million different ways.
But you don’t speak my language;
You don’t hear the things I say.

I’m speaking a dead language,
one you’ll never hear.
Even though I whisper it every time you’re near,
a soft reminder I can’t stop repeating in your ear.

I love you.

I say it in my actions, my words, my smile;
But you don’t notice;
You don’t care.

I tell you that I love you,
a million different ways.
But I’m speaking a dead language;
You don’t hear the things I say.

Leave a Reply

