Life in the fast lane

Breathe in. Breathe out.

Relax.

Believe it or not, those were the words I found myself saying to myself last night as I attempted (and failed) to fall asleep. My mind’s whirring and life is running at full blast these days. I’m tired, exhausted, emotional, and happy.

The past few weeks have really been a blur. There was the rush to get a magazine and a book to the printer. (We did it!) There was a big student ministry conference at work I had to work at. Contracts to get out. (One month is gone; another will—cross your fingers—get done today.) Another issue of the magazine to edit. Stories to write. Writers to find. Phone calls to make. A bridesmaid’s dress to get pressed. Laundry. A house to clean. Company coming. Groceries to buy. Bills to pay. Friends to see. Last moments with a dear friend before she becomes a married woman and our relationship changes yet again (not in a bad way). A big event at church. Shoes to buy. A haircut and color. Meetings. Fights. Tears. Hope. Prayers. Peace.

I spent most of my weekend working furiously to get a magazine ready to go. Tomorrow I leave for an overnight retreat to Kentucky for work. On Thursday, my friend Brandy arrives, Hutchmoot begins, and the final days before Mindy’s wedding begin to tick down. Friday will be a blur of decorating and sweet moments with friends. Saturday will be a day of hurry-up-and-wait, a wedding, and Hutchmoot. Sunday will be church, singing, Hutchmoot, JAM (our student arts ministry at church), and finally, collapse.

It’s going to be a crazy week, but it’s life at full blast. And I’d rather live each day to the fullest and fall into bed exhausted than think my life had no purpose and no one to share it with.

So buckle your seat belts, folks. It’s going to go by so fast!

 

Leave a Reply

