The weekend that wasn’t.

On Friday, my plan was that I’d go to work, accomplish something, then leave a little early, swing by my house to pick up my dog and my bag and get on the road to Missouri.

That was the plan.

And like most of the plans I’ve made in my life, that’s not exactly how it went down.

I actually did get the dog and my stuff loaded in to the car, and I actually started the trip. But I only got as far as the intersection of 440 and I-65.

Flat tire. After calling AT&T Roadside and Toyota Cares, I had people on the way to help me. And that’s when the random, nice stranger showed up and changed the tire for me. So now I had a doughnut tire on my car and it was 4:30 p.m. By the time I could have gotten the tire replaced, it was going to be way too late to start a 4-hour drive to Missouri.

So I called my parents and canceled. And drove home. For a little bit, I thought about simply hiding out at my place for the weekend. Sleeping until I woke up, which would pretty much describe my perfect day. Instead, I went for ice cream with a friend, slept until I woke up on Saturday, did a little housework, and watched a movie. I got to spend a bit of the afternoon with a friend I don’t get to hang out with enough, cooked a homemade supper, baked brownies, and watched another movie. Sunday was equally as relaxing.

So the weekend may not have gone as planned, but it was certainly what I needed!

Leave a Reply

