I need to write.

I don’t want to write a post today.

I don’t want to exercise the skill or hone the craft.

I want to sit by myself and wrap myself up in my own thoughts like a warm, suffocating blanket.

But I need to write.

I need to sit down and write myself out of my melancholy mood.

I need to give voice to some thoughts, even if they’re never shared with anyone but God.

I need to let inspiration lead, instead of pushing it aside and thinking I have other more important things to do.

I need to not feel the pressure of deadlines and details and stress and remember the joy of finding the words.

I need a day off, a cup of coffee, and a journal. Silence. The sounds of nature. Good music.

I need a break, I think. A day for me. A day that says I’m important, even if I don’t feel like it, believe it, or think anyone else believes it.

So, I’ll just start the process by writing today. When I don’t want to. When I’d rather go sit somewhere and believe my fears and doubt my worth.

But instead, I choose to write.

To process.

To learn to trust Him more.

(And by the way, people, I need a new journal. I like Moleskine.)

Leave a Reply

