Grace like rain

There’s this scene in the movie Good Will Hunting in which Robin Williams’ character, a therapist, is talking to Will, played by a very young Matt Damon. They’ve just had a conversation about the abuse Will endured at the hands of his father growing up. And quietly, softly, Robin Williams says, “It’s not your fault.”

“It’s not your fault.”

“It’s not your fault.”

Over and over. Loud and soft. Despite whatever Will throws at him—pat answers designed to hide the real him from the world, anger, tears, disbelief—he keeps saying it over and over and over, the words falling like drops of rain.

“It’s not your fault.”

Lately, I sort of feel like I’ve been living that scene in the movie. I’m playing the role of Will and God is playing the therapist. And despite what I tell Him, over and over it seems He keeps saying the same thing:

“I love you.”

“I love you.”

“I love you.”

When I don’t believe Him.

“I love you.”

When I tell Him I don’t deserve it.

“I love you.”

When the voices of the world are too loud.

“I love you.”

When I believe all the lies about myself and my worth that I’ve ever been told.

“I love you.”

When I smile at a beautiful sunset.

“I love you.”

When my prayer turns to wordless tears.

“I love you.”

When I list all the reasons He shouldn’t love me.

“I love you.”

It seems the lesson God wants me to learn is simple. No matter what I throw at Him, I can’t escape His love. His words still fall like the gentle rain drops of a summer afternoon rain shower.

“I love you.”

4 thoughts on “Grace like rain”

  1. The picture you added at the end completely ties up what I feel too: God’s grace raining down on you, covering every hair, every part of you.

  2. Had to go listen to Todd Agnew’s song of the same title as your post after reading that…yes, thank you for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

