Pieces of me

I like big earrings and big sunglasses. I have a collection of newsboy caps and would rather wear pajamas than anything else. I like coffee in enormous mugs and the time to sip it leisurely. I think my dad is the kindest man I’ve ever met. My iPod is eclectic and quite possibly schizophrenic. I sometimes drink my coffee with milk and sugar because that’s how my grandpa drank his. I worry sometimes that I can’t remember how his voice sounded when he said my name. I can’t sleep if my feet are hot. I don’t know why, but the sound of a harmonica makes me happy. I own a Crosby, Stills and Nash record on vinyl in honor of my dad and a John Denver vinyl in honor of my mom. When I buy groceries, I put the ice cream away last, so that I can open it up and take one taste of the melted ice cream at the edges of the container—because that’s something my mom and I used to do when we bought groceries together when I was a kid. Chuck Taylors make me happy. I cry in movie theaters, at church, and in the middle seat on airplanes while reading a book. I don’t like Westerns. I think my mom is hilarious. I talk to my dog like she’s a person. I hate cleaning out the refrigerator and taking out the trash. I’m a big fan of sunflowers and daisies, the world’s happiest flowers. I think accordions are kind of cool and wish I could play the mandolin. I like those orange glazed cinnamon rolls from the can. I often wish I could fix my friends problems. I hate the color lavender. I wish I practiced the piano more. I want to go to Yellowstone with my dad, visit Boston again sometime soon, and someday see Europe in person—but I don’t want to do any of it alone. My brother can make me laugh like no one else can. I like cooking for other people. And Fridays make me smile.

Leave a Reply

