Tomato Soup to soothe the soul

I don’t know what my deal is, but lately I’ve been on this soup-making kick. It’s like soup is all I want. And some of the time I’ve been making all these soups (the tomato soup recipe I’m sharing today—twice—and a mushroom soup recipe I’ve previously blogged about, and soon, a take-off on Rachel Ray’s recipe for green minestrone) it hasn’t even been traditional soup weather.

Oh, well. Soup is a special kind of comfort food and today’s recipe is one of the most comforting tomato soup recipes I’ve found.

This recipe is based off of the Pioneer Woman’s recipe for sherried tomato soup, but of course, I made my own adjustments. I just wanted to be upfront and not let you think I made this up all on my lonesome. Ready to learn all about it? Let’s get cooking!

Ingredients:
4-6 tbsp butter
1 medium onion, chopped finely
1 tsp minced garlic
1 can crushed tomatoes
1 can petite diced tomatoes
1/2 bottle of a 46 oz bottle of tomato juice
3/4 cup chicken stock
3/4 cup cooking sherry
handful of fresh basil
1 cup cream
parsley, salt, and pepper to taste

1. Finely dice your onion and saute it in the bottom of a large stock pot with the 4-6 tablespoons of butter. Cook the onion until it is translucent. When the onion is just beginning to get translucent, throw in the garlic and let is saute a bit too. Wait until the onions are practically cooked through, though, before adding the garlic.

2. Pour in diced tomatoes and crushed tomatoes, then stir to combine. Pour in the tomato juice and chicken stock and stir again.

3. Now, this is important. Taste the tomato mixture. If your tomatoes are really acidic, now is the time to do something about that. And what to do is add a little sugar. Yes, sugar! I hate sweetness in savory dishes, but this is more about breaking down the acid. So, get your sugar and a tablespoon and add a little at a time. I only added about 1.5 tablespoons. You’re going to have to taste and use your tastebuds as the judge.

4. Add in black pepper (a lot) and stir. Heat almost to boil, then lower it significantly. Add in the 3/4 cup of cooking sherry. I let the soup boil again because I really just want the taste to be there. Then, turn off the heat.

5. Pour in the cream and stir. It will be lovely and creamy and beautiful and you’ll tear up a bit.

6. Chop or tear some fresh basil and stir into the soup. Add parsley (fresh or dried) and salt and pepper to taste.

7. Serve warm. Preferably with a beautiful grilled cheese sandwich.

2 thoughts on “Tomato Soup to soothe the soul”

  1. Hmm. . .what I used there was some weird cheddar/mozarella combo. It wasn’t as good as I thought it would be. I’m a big colby jack fan, so that’s what I really like on grilled cheese.

Leave a Reply

