Today is the day.

For the past two days, I’ve woken up singing a song.

That’s not unusual. And neither is the song really, but the repetitiveness is a little different for me.

As you all know, I work with the high school students in my church’s arts/music ministry on Sunday nights. We’ve been working on learning a song called “Today Is the Day” for the past few weeks and the students will go into the studio next weekend to record it. But for the past few months that we’ve been working on this song, it’s never gotten stuck in my head. I’ve never woken up singing it. Two days in a row.

Except for the past few days, when I’ve found myself humming it while drying my hair or mentally singing the lyrics while getting dressed.

Today is the day You have made
I will rejoice and be glad in it
Today is the day You have made
I won’t worry about tomorrow
I’m giving You my fears and sorrows
Where You lead me I will follow
I’m trusting in what You say
Today is the day!

I don’t really think that this song being stuck in my head is a coincidence. It’s a truth I need to know, a message God wants to write upon my heart.

Trust me, He whispers in the chorus.

I’ve got this, dear girl, He promises.

No matter how many times you tell me you don’t deserve it or aren’t worth it, I love you.

It’s OK to be scared. Trust Me. Give it to me. All of it.

I’ve been bearing a lot of burdens lately. For other people. Some of my own. A few fears and sorrows I can’t even put into words to anyone but God. And He keeps inviting me to share them with Him and remember above all else, this is the day He created. The day He created for me to trust Him.

I may fail miserably, but it’s the day I’m going to take Him at His Word and do what He says.

Trust Him.

Today is the day.

2 thoughts on “Today is the day.”

Leave a Reply

