Life as I know it.

I think we all have those times in life when it feels like everything is whirling out of control and you’re just doing your level best to stay in the race. Too many commitments. Big deadlines at work. Meetings. Life in general. Stress.

That was last week for me, which explains my somewhat absence from this blog. So let me catch you up on what’s been going on.

Last Wednesday:
All day, off-site meeting with magazine team to plan three issues. Get to wear jeans. (Yay!) Meeting starts at 8:30 a.m., supposed to meet contractor to sign contract to get some bricks repaired on my townhome at 8 a.m. He calls at 8:15 to tell me he’s stuck in traffic and can’t get there until 8:30 a.m. Since I told him the day before I had to be at a meeting at 8:30 a.m. and he had to be there by 8 a.m., I basically told him that was fine, but I wasn’t going to be there. We arranged to meet up later in the day. Meeting went well. Lunch at Moe’s. Left meeting a little early, met contractor, signed contract, went home, did cross training for half marathon training plan. Workers arrived and started demolishing old brick. Made supper. Ate. Went to choir. Came home, watched TV with Mindy and Rachel, went to bed.

Thursday:
Arrived at work, remembered it was picture day for a team I’m on. Waited around for people to arrive for the picture. Finally got to work. Had an unexpected meeting concerning an event that started the next day. Edited, edited, edited. Ran 3 miles. Went home. Collapsed.

Friday:
Stopped by Sam and Zoe’s on the way to work for coffee and a bagel. Got to wear jeans because of event I was working at work. Got notification from ACCOUNTING(!) that my VISA bill for work was way, way, way late. Scrambled to complete expense report. Couldn’t find receipt for buying domain name from WordPress. Had to contact WordPress, but the support people were all in a week-long meeting to “brainstorm ways to improve WordPress.” Posted in the forums and hoped for the best. Finally got a response, receipts were eventually emailed to me, expense report was submitted and accepted. Meanwhile, a friend texted to see if I wanted to go to Hutchmoot 2011, a conference/gathering we’d gone to the year before. I said yes, promised to send her my half of the money, THEN asked the date. Realized it’s the same weekend as my friend Mindy’s wedding. . . .which I am in. Sigh. Went to work at event. Spent afternoon being a greeter and breakout room host. Texted friend about the lameness of my day. Had coffee with friend. Went home, supervised workers finishing brick work, ordered pizza, collapsed.

Saturday:
Woke up at 2:50 a.m. with ideas for a story I’m writing for the magazine. Wrote them down in journal, finished about an hour later. . . .couldn’t go back to sleep. Fell asleep around 4:15 or so, woke up when alarm went off at 6:30 a.m. Got dressed to run with Alisha. Drove to Vandy. Ran/walked 6 miles.

Got in car, realized it was nearly 9 a.m. and I had to be at church at 9:45 for our last Upward Game. Got ready in 10 minutes, got to church only 10 minutes late. Cheered. Best halftime cheer of the season! Upward celebration with pizza (I didn’t have any) and cupcakes (I had one), followed by an awards presentation. Contractor calls during presentation. Glad phone is on silent. Done around noon, go home, meet contractor, pay for the job, change clothes, head downtown. Get fries and a drink at McDonald’s because I’ve only eaten part of an English muffin and a cupcake all day long. Work as breakout host in two rooms at the Girls’ Ministry Forum and nearly lose my mind trying to help two leaders with technical issues. Go by Baja Burrito to get real food. Go home. Change into pajamas at 5 p.m. and eat my salad and watch a movie. Friend calls and asks if I want to go hear some music in downtown Franklin. I say no, then rethink it and say yes. Dessert at Franklin Mercantile and watch young Galen perform. Walk to Puckett’s Grocery to see Bailie and the Boys and Alyssa Bonagura perform. Eat spinach artichoke dip and drink two cups of coffee. Leave around 11:30 p.m. Collapse at midnight when I get home.

Sunday:
Up at 7:15 a.m. Feed dog, get in shower, at church by 8:45 a.m. Choir, first service music, Life Group, second service sing and hear the sermon, lunch with friends, go home, change clothes, ride over to Mindy’s with her, drive to pick up her wedding dress, come home, collapse on couch with stomachache. Sleep for 1 hour, get ready for church, head to JAM and hang out with the high school students. Come home. Eat leftover pizza. Watch Oscars, fall asleep before any of the good awards are given.

Monday:
Arrive at work. Meeting (pointless) that lasts an hour. Back out of another meeting because of looming deadline. Work tail off all day until 4:45 p.m. Leave, got to grocery store, buy too much. Go home, fix dinner, watch Chuck, fold laundry, do laundry, watch Castle, read, fall asleep.

Sigh.

Hopefully things are starting to calm down!

Leave a Reply

