And this is the serious part.

On New Year’s Eve, a friend and I decided to bite the bullet, pay the money, and sign up to run the Country Music Half Marathon on April 30.

Let’s just say this: even though I’ve now logged more than 500 miles with Nike+, I am not a runner.

At least I don’t feel like one. Not a real one anyway. I don’t wake up yearning for a run. Most of the time, I get dressed in my running gear and force myself to get out there and do it. And there are moments during the run in which I flat out hate running, myself for attempting to do this, and those tall, lanky people who can run 400 times faster than me and don’t turn the color of a tomato.

But the real training starts this week. We’ve both been trying to increase our endurance these last few weeks, and from here on out, our long runs on Saturday will increase each week, culminating in 12 miles about a week before race day. It’s time to get serious. And a part of me is scared.

This is going to take a lot of effort, dedication, and focus. Plus, I’ve had this nagging problem with calf pain/cramps. And I still don’t feel like a “real” runner because I’m not breaking any records and right now, none of the distances seem easier.

But every once in awhile, it’s good to try something you’re not sure you can do. It’s good to be focused, dedicated, and held accountable to do what you said.

So the real work starts today. I’ll keep you up to date on my progress!

 

5 thoughts on “And this is the serious part.”

  1. I’m very proud of you!! You can do it! 🙂 I’ll have the kids with me, but I’m gonna try to be out there cheering you on. Love you!!!!!

Leave a Reply

