Good-bye, Narnia

Last night, I finished the last book in The Chronicles of Narnia.

I have to be honest. I could have finished the 30 or so pages I had left a week ago. But I kept finding reasons not to. And when I did sit down to read it, I tried to read as slowly as possible.

Because I didn’t want it to be over. Because I didn’t want to say good-bye to my friends. I didn’t want to watch them lose the last battle in my mind’s eye.

I didn’t want Narnia to end.

But everything must come to an end, right?

Even the characters in the book knew that; it was apparent as they resigned themselves to the loss and entered Aslan’s land. I think Jewel the Unicorn said it best:

“I have come home at last! This is my real country! I belong here. This is the land I have been looking for all my life, though I never knew it till now. The reason why we loved the old Narnia is that is sometimes looked a little like this. Bree-hee-hee! Come further up, come further in!”

Don’t you sometimes feel that way? Do you ever find yourself standing in your own kitchen, releasing a sigh you didn’t know you’d been holding, breathing out the words “I want to go home”?

I have. I’ve said those words in my mind at work, in the car, at my own house, and at my parents’ house. When I first noticed I said or thought that phrase a lot, I thought I really meant that I wanted to go home—to my house or my parents. And then I noticed that even when I was in those places, they weren’t the home I was hoping for.

Sometimes, I long for home. For my real country. For the land I’ve been looking for all my life. Heaven. Jesus. The place where sin and tears are gone and all that’s left are the things that matter.

And, like Jewel the Unicorn in Narnia, we sometimes get a glimpse of it in this world. Never fully, but just enough to whet our appetite for the home we’ve been searching for all our lives. We glimpse it in the peaceful face of an old saint, the beauty of the mountains, and the comfort we can’t explain in our deepest griefs.

Someday, I’ll go home. I’ll go to the place where I feel like I fit, which isn’t the way I feel most of the time here.

So, my time in Narnia has ended. But it’s been a good journey. One I know I’ll take again sometime.

7 thoughts on “Good-bye, Narnia”

  1. I have taken this journey 5 times in my life, the last being 4 years ago. I think it is about time to embark again. Thanks for the reminder.

  2. I LOVE the Chronicles of Narnia. I take my time buying 1 book at a time and savor each story as it unfolds. I know how it feels when the one book that you’re holding is the last of the series. It’s just kind of sad, like you’ll never hear from the characters of the story again. But you’ll always remember them like an old friend. 🙂

  3. I resisted reading the Chronicles of Narnia because I didn’t think I would like “fantasy.” Um, I was wrong!

    Good books definitely worth a re-read!

  4. The words of Beulah Land come to mind

    I’m kind of homesick for a country
    To which I’ve never been before.
    No sad goodbyes will there be spoken
    for time won’t matter anymore.

    Beulah Land, I’m longing for you
    and some day on thee I’ll stand.
    There my home shall be eternal.
    Beulah Land — Sweet Beulah Land

Leave a Reply

