My favorite mistake . . . in the form of chocolate chip cookies

I like cookies.

No, let me rephrase that: I love cookies. I think cookies are special little gifts that brighten my day and help alleviate my stress and sometimes I eat them simply because I know they’ll make me feel better. That’s not necessarily healthy, but that’s the relationship cookies and I have. I LOOOOVVVVVEEEE them!

This Christmas, I was making cookies for friends and stumbled across my new favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe using my Epicurious app on my iPhone. They’re yummy. The batter is good all by itself. They’re a little bit puffy. They’re amazing fresh from the oven.

And today, I share that recipe with you! This isn’t my recipe, but it’s a good one. Get the original here.

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 sticks (1 cup) unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly
  • 1 1/2 cups packed light brown sugar
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips (16 ounces)
1. Melt your butter. You can do it in the microwave or on the stovetop—just whatever floats your boat, blows your skirt up, or some other random and kitchsy cliche.
2. While the butter is melting, whisk together the flour, baking soda, and salt. Now here’s my addition to the recipe: stir in about 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. I like the play of cinnamon against the chocolate. You don’t have to do this, but I think you’ll like it if you do!

3. Beat the melted butter and both sugars together with an electric mixer on high until it’s beginning to look kind of creamy. We’re talking a couple of minutes.

4. Crack one of your eggs into a small dish and beat it with a fork. Add 1 3/4 tablespoons of the beaten egg to the mixture, then add the two remaining eggs. Beat with mixer until creamy. The original recipe says this takes about a minute.
5. Beat in the vanilla.
6. Set your mixer on low and beat in the flour mixture bit by bit. When it begins to form a batter, step back and admire it. Take pictures. This batter is good by itself!

7. Stir in the chocolate chips by hand. (I am lazy and use my mixer to do this, even though it does break up the chocolate chips some.)
8. Using a tablespoon or cookie scoop, place the dough onto the baking sheet. You may want to flatten the rounds a bit with your hand or a spoon or fork. Bake in an oven you’ve preheated to 375 degrees. Bake the cookies for 13-15 minutes, until there’s a touch of brown on the top.
9. Pour yourself a big ol’ glass of milk and ENJOY!
Leave a Reply

