The day in which I wage war on coffee, travel coffee mugs, static cling, and Dave Ramsey (except not the last one).

I’m having one of those mornings where nothing goes right.

Don’t get all holier-than-thou. You know what I’m talking about.

 

 

 

 

 

But just so you can share in my pain here’s a little synopsis. . .
After hitting the snooze button twice, I lie in bed looking at the clock knowing I have to get up and not wanting to. I want to sleep more! And in my head I know my next chance at catching up on sleep won’t come until sometime on Saturday afternoon. Because I have to work on Friday. And I have to run 3 miles on Saturday morning and I have an Upward game. All of which are good things, but at 5:15 a.m. when your alarm is blaring for the third time and you HAVE to get out of bed, none of those things seem quite that amazing.

After Bible study, breakfast, and a shower, I remember—in the middle of drying my hair—that I was supposed to get an email from a building company in town for some repairs to my house that need to be completed. So I stop drying my hair and go check my email. No email. Sigh. Am I going to have to annoy this person to death to get anything done?

Finally with my hair dry and make-up on, I figure out what to wear. And while I like this dress, it’s kind of a sweater dress. And I’m pretty sure it’s got a touch of static cling. Which isn’t exactly the fashion statement I want to make.

Then, it’s time to head downstairs, grab my lunch, pour my coffee into the travel mug, and head out the door. Except I forgot to make my lunch last night. Well, just buy it, I think to myself. Well, no, I answer myself. You are spending money on food tonight at the Listening Room. You have leftovers. Be a good steward of your money. Take your lunch. It would make Dave Ramsey proud of you. And just for a minute, as I’m putting the leftover soup in a container and making a sandwich, I kind of hate Dave Ramsey. But not really. But a little bit. But not so much.

Finally lunch made and coffee poured, I turn the heat down, feed the dog a treat, and head out the door. To my frosted over car. It’s already late. I need to be on the road. And my car is frosted over and I need to let it warm up. So I sit there in the car waiting for it to get warm. Did I mention it’s against the law in Davidson County to start your car and leave it running unattended?

A bit later my car is no longer covered in frozen frost and I’m on my way. Except traffic is backed up because of the school zone. So I take an alternate route. I’m moving now! Yeah! Then I take a drink of coffee from the travel mug. It’s steaming hot! And this cup. . . it’s leaking! This is a new cup. A Christmas gift. One I really liked. And I can’t drink out of it with the lid on without spilling coffee everywhere. I mean, I think my parents bought me a trick travel coffee mug that makes you dribble when you try to drink out of it. So now, I have coffee on my hands, coffee on my static-cling dress, and coffee on my car. My new car. Well, my new to me car that came to me in pristine condition and I’d like to keep it that way!

By the time I got to the elevator lobby at work, coffee was dripping from my hand (just from the walk in!) and I was not in the best of moods. And as I was imploring—aloud—to my coffee cup to stop spilling and dripping everywhere, the elevator arrives and some lady gets off and gives me the sad look you give someone talking to herself or her coffee cup in the elevator lobby at 7:45 a.m. and says “Good morning!” in an annoyingly chipper voice.

I sort of wanted to cry. Or punch her. Or press rewind.

But here I am. Static cling clad. Smelling like coffee instead of my perfume. Late.

But here.

So let’s do this.

But for the record, I’m still a little upset with my coffee cup. But I’ve forgiven Dave Ramsey.


2 thoughts on “The day in which I wage war on coffee, travel coffee mugs, static cling, and Dave Ramsey (except not the last one).”

  1. I looked at the casserole dish in the frig this morning and noted that I needed to put some in a dish to take to work for lunch. I said to myself, I’ll get that in a minute, I want to pick out what to wear first.

    Did Mindy ever go back to get her lunch for today? No. So Mindy has to spend money on lunch when there is a perfectly good casserole in her frig. I’m trying to be good about eating leftovers but today I failed.

Leave a Reply

