What should I read?

So last year, my goal was to read more books than I read in 2009. And I picked the BBC’s list of top 100 books to guide my choices.

Let’s just say it: that didn’t happen.

I could give lots of excuses. I got tired. I didn’t feel well. I was really, really busy and when you read all day long for work, sometimes your eyes need a break.

Or the truth.

That I got a little bogged down in the middle of Great Expectations. I got a bit lost in A Horse and His Boy. I feel asleep when I was trying to read.

But it’s a new year and I have a new chance to redeem myself! And this year, you get to help!

How, you ask? Well, you get to help compile the list of books I’ll read this year. Have a favorite you think I need to read? Leave it in the comments. Think I need to expand my reading choices to include more non-fiction? Write suggestions in the comments.

Now, a few things you need to know:
• I want to read 30 books this year, topping 2009’s 26.
• I am NOT going to read anything that I think is inappropriate. So don’t be suggesting some crazy Harlequin romance or some novel that deals with questionable activities or content or is full of terrible language. I reserve the right to say no to such suggestions.
• If I’ve already read your suggestion, I reserve the right to say no.
• I am in the middle of The Chronicles of Narnia and want to finish.
• I am already committed to reading Three Cups of Tea and The Help with a friend this year.
• I do want to include a mix of fiction and non-fiction. I’d prefer history or non-fiction that would interest me.
• It’s likely that I won’t get 30 suggestions. I’ll supplement your picks with books on the BBC’s list that I didn’t get to or picks from the New York Times bestsellers list (to get more modern fiction into my reading).
• I’m picky about what I read and I’m just going to be honest here: I’m not a big fan of Christian fiction. As a genre, most of what I’ve read leans toward trite or is simply a romance novel without sex. So if you’re going to suggest Christian fiction, it better be good or you will hear about it.

So sound off in the comments! I’m excited to hear what you want me to read. I’ll make a list based on your suggestions and post it on this blog next Monday. And I’ll keep you up to date with my progress with frequent book reviews.

So what will I be reading this year? Ready. Set. GO!

4 thoughts on “What should I read?”

  1. How do you feel about thrillers? I just finished a book that I would love to recommend to someone, but I don’t know anyone who could handle it. I barely handled it! It’s not the fiction part that bothered me – it’s the science part that actually exists that bothered me. Technically, this is the fourth one in a series, but it was by far the most disturbing.

  2. Ok. Since I love to read, I have a lot of favorites. I’m sure you have read a number of them, but here goes (in no particular order):

    Jane Eyre – re-read it last year and always enjoy it
    Wuthering Heights
    An American Tragedy by Theodore Dreiser
    The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn – always makes me laugh out loud
    The Sword of Shannara – by Terry Brooks
    The Elfstones of Shannara – the best of the trilogy
    The Wishsong of Shanara
    Bleak House and David Copperfield –
    The Street Lawyer – favorite Grisham book
    The Class of 1846 – best history book I have read (which I believe Mindy still has)
    Truman – 2nd best history book I have read
    The Pistol – if you feel like a sports book

Leave a Reply

