Dispatches

Let’s just let the fact that I haven’t manage to post something every day this last few weeks speak for itself.

It’s kind of terrible that “the most wonderful time of the year” also becomes the busiest, most stressful time for a lot of us. So much to do, big deadlines to meet, places to be.

So, I apologize that you haven’t seen “Dispatches” in awhile. And I hope I can make this week’s edition worth your while!

Let’s go!

• I had a cold that turned into a sinus infection. I went to the doctor, got meds, felt 400 times better. And now. . .wait for it. . .I’m coughing again! Yay for round 2!

• Last night I went to see Andrew Peterson et al perform “Behold the Lamb of God” at the Ryman Auditorium. I’ve pretty much decided that for the time being, I’m going every year that I possibly can. It never fails that no matter what mood, stress level, or  season of life (including joy, doubt, despair, loneliness, etc.) I arrive at the show in, I’m reminded anew of what Christmas is really about and hope fills my soul. And the Ryman becomes a holy place where the capital T Truth is declared and peace between man and God is made real. Somehow, this performance touches the hungry, hurting places of my heart like no other. It was fun to share the night with good friends who were as excited or more excited than I was and to watch one of them experience the show for the first time.

• Today is the office Christmas party. Which means a really yummy lunch at a really yummy restaurant and the afternoon off. And I have a few errands, then I plan to sleep. Because this week has been full of exhausting-ness. Which isn’t a word. But I still like it.

• I’m going to just admit this: I’ve kind of watched a larger percentage of Hallmark Christmas movies than I really should have this year. Usually, I avoid them like the plague, but this year they sucked me in. Seriously, I might need some help!

• Our second performance of “A Christmas Prayer” at my church was canceled last weekend because of snow. They’ve rescheduled it for this Sunday night. So come on out to Judson Baptist at 6 p.m. if you’re in town. If not, just think about the Judson choir and orchestra and pray that we haven’t already forgotten the words!

• I am planning to photograph, write, and present to you a little story on this blog next week involving two of my Christmas decorations as the lead characters. I hope it’s as funny as I think it is in my head.

• I have been confused about what day of the week it is all week long. I really think Monday felt like 2 days. But today is Friday, then I only work 2 days next week and leave for a week or so in Missouri with the family. My mom is excited to have me there for that long and I could use some time being someone’s daughter! This year, the gifts and bustle of Christmas have been less important to me. I just want to spend quality time with all the people I love over the holidays, including my friends. So I’m hoping the fact that once I come back to Nashville I don’t have to go back to work until January 4 will lend itself to some random hang-out time with friends.

• I made up some sourdough starter a few weeks ago. I have to make some bread this weekend because of that. Who wants a small loaf?

That’s all I’ve got for today. I hope you all have a wonderful Friday and a restful, Christmas-y weekend!

2 thoughts on “Dispatches”

Leave a Reply

