A week away does the heart good

Last week, I didn’t blog.

I’m not going to lie: I didn’t even think about blogging.

I simply went off on my vacation, made a pact with myself NOT to check my work email and somewhere along the way decided not to blog. Part of the reason was because you had to pay to use Wi-Fi in the condo we were staying in. Part of it was because I was tired and wanted to spend the vacation with my family actually concentrating on the people I was with.

So, I had good laughs with my mom. I danced jigs with my brother. I played with my nephew. I hugged my dad. I chatted with my sister-in-law. I sat in quiet, companionable silence and read a book. I rested. I had fun. I got exhausted. I ate. I saw shows. I watched it snow on Thanksgiving Day. I snuck out on the porch when everyone else was busy and reveled in the quiet. I drank coffee, played Rock Band, and petted the dogs.

In other words, I took a vacation.

A well-deserved, much-needed vacation.

And I came back to work tired and a little under the weather, but I wouldn’t trade any of those moments.The hustle and pandemonium of December is coming soon; I’m just hoping I can nurture the peace of my Thanksgiving (the holiday and the emotion) in the middle of it all.

 

 

2 thoughts on “A week away does the heart good”

  1. Although I didn’t expect it, I did check the blog every day. 🙂 I’m glad you had a good week (I knew you loved Branson!). I still have no voice, but hopefully will enjoy lunch tomorrow in spite of that. Can’t wait to see you & Mindy.

Leave a Reply

