A Thanksgiving breakfast: pumpkin carrot muffins

OK, here’s the deal: I love pumpkin way more than most people. I’d say pumpkin bread is one of my favorite things ever. The pumpkin cream cheese recipe my friend Brandy gave me brings me great joy. Last year, I made a pumpkin cake and served it simply with fresh whipped cream and it rocked my world.

So a few weeks ago when I had a bit of pumpkin left over and wanted to make something new, my mind started turning to a pumpkin carrot combo. That would certainly make for some moist muffins, I thought, then I got started trying to figure out how to do it.

Thanks to the Epicurious recipe app on my iPhone, I discovered a recipe for pumpkin apple muffins that would give me an idea of what proportions of ingredients I would need. The recipe I’m about to share with you is my adaptation of that recipe. I will warn you, these muffins are very dense and tend to taste best one day after baking, though they’re great just out of the oven. This also isn’t an overly sweet recipe. The streusal topping helps with sweetness, but the muffin batter itself isn’t very sweet. If you’re looking for a sweet muffin, don’t skip the streusal topping!

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1 cup all purpose flour
1 tbsp pumpkin pie spice (I went lighter on this b/c I don’t like nutmeg)
1 1/4 tsp baking powder
2 cups sugar
1 cup pumpkin (canned)
1 cup chopped carrots
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 eggs
1 cup golden raisins (I decided after tasting the muffins that these would be a nice addition. So if you try it an it’s gross, let me know.)
1 cup (give or take) apple cider or apple juice

Topping:
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 tbsp all purpose flour
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 cup butter

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and prepare your muffin tins. This recipe should make about 18 muffins. Place your cup of raisins in a bowl and pour a cup of apple cider or juice over them and let them hang out and plump up for awhile. This will work better in the apple cider/juice is a bit on the warm side.

2. Sift together your dry ingredients (whole wheat flour, all purpose flour, pumpkin pie spice and baking powder).
IMG_0069

3. In your electric mixer bowl, combine the sugar, pumpkin oil, and eggs and mix well. After that is all combined, stir in the finely chopped carrots.
IMG_0070

4. Add the dry ingredient mixture one-third at a time, mixing well after each addition. When all the dry ingredients are mixed, drain the cider off of the raisins and stir them into the batter.

5. Place equal amounts of batter into the muffin tin.
IMG_0071

6. Make the streusal topping by combining the brown sugar, flour, and cinnamon in a small bowl, then cutting in the butter with a pastry cutter or a fork until it resembles small crumbs. Sprinkle on top of the muffins.
IMG_0072

7. Bake for about 30 minutes until the muffins are golden brown. Enjoy!
IMG_0074

(These muffins also freeze well. Do so soon after they’ve cooled to preserve the freshness. When ready to eat them, thaw on the counter, then place on a baking stone or cookie sheet in a 350 degree oven and warm through.)

Adapted from a Bon Appétit recipe form the December 1991 issue that I found on the Epicurious app on my iPhone.

2 thoughts on “A Thanksgiving breakfast: pumpkin carrot muffins”

  1. Another great recipe, I’m sure 🙂 Not too sure about the raisins myself, but I’m not a big fan. And just so you know…I made 4 dozen of your pumpkin cream cheese muffins (without tasting first…I trusted your recipe!). Took one batch for my cheer and dance teams and one to our Sunday School pumpkin carving party. Rave reviews all around!!

  2. Yay! I’m so glad you liked the recipe. My friend Brandy told me about the recipe and the people I’ve made them for are still talking about them. Yay for food! 🙂

Leave a Reply

