These words are true.

Let me be certain of Him and His Word.

He is good.

He is just.

He is merciful.

The Story is true.

I read those words a week or so ago in a blog post written by SD Smith for the Rabbit Room.

I read them aloud. Pondered them. Tasted them on my tongue.

Then, as I often do when Scripture and other quotes touch my heart, I wrote those words down and stuck them to the bottom of my computer monitor at work.

And there they stay, right next to a quote from Martin Luther. Nearby, Psalm 13:5-6 resides, reminding me of the peace it brought me in a time when I had to work to remember that God’s love is faithful and that He has faithfully loved me because I was so blinded to it by my own lack of faith and fear that threatened to overwhelm me.

But I have trusted in Your faithful love; My heart will rejoice in Your deliverance. I will sing to the Lord for He has treated me generously. —Psalm 13:5-6

Close by is 1 Timothy 6:18-19, which I read one day and it was impressed upon my heart that this was my job, that this was what I was called to share with the teens with whom I minister through my church and the magazine I edit:

Instruct them to do good, to be rich in good works, to be generous, willing to share, storing up for themselves a good foundation fo the age to come, so that they may take hold of life that is real.

Behind me, on my filing cabinet are the words of Frederick Buechner, words that remind me every day that I am loved and it can’t be erased no matter how hard I try:

Turn around and believe that the good news that we are loved is better than we ever dared hope, and that to believe in that good news, to live out of it and toward it, to be in love with that good news, is of all glad things in the world the gladdest of thing of all. Amen, and come Lord Jesus.”

These words have meaning. These words call me to remember. These quotes and Scriptures remind me of truths I need reminding of frequently. Sometimes, they convict and correct.

They speak the Truth all the time.

5 thoughts on “These words are true.”

  1. I have scripture tucked away in a few places for my viewing when needed. They bring comfort, peace, healing, and sometimes conviction. I think it is very important to post scripture in places like you mentioned, to see them continuously.

  2. Mindy: My mirror’s a mess at the moment with all the Scripture verses on it. My current fave is from the NLT rendering of Psalm 139:17: 17
    “How precious are your thoughts about me, O God. They cannot be numbered!”

Leave a Reply

