Bacon-y, cheesy goodness to warm hard hearts: Bacon, grilled onion, and cheddar biscuits

I’m not going to lie. Breakfast food is pretty much my favorite.

I mean, what’s wrong with the delightfulness that is breakfast? Eggs, toast, biscuits, omelets, muffins, cinnamon rolls, coffee, orange juice (with little to no pulp). . . ah, I’m making myself hungry!

Well, a recipe I ran across on the Pioneer Woman’s blog a while back has become a breakfast favorite of mine, particularly if I’m cooking for a brunch-like event or taking something for my Life Group to eat during class at church. The Pioneer Woman called them bacon onion cheddar biscuits. I call them amazing and yummy!

Here’s how to make them:

1. Fry up 10 pieces of bacon.
IMG_2393
Yep, I said 10. Forget all about cholestoral and things like that. Just fry it up and enjoy the smell. It may take you two shifts to fry up that much bacon. I don’t have a pan big enough for 10 slices of bacon at once, so I just did five, then five more. After the bacon is crispy, take it out of the skillet and let it cool on a paper towel-lined plate. Later, you’re going to want to crumble it up into small pieces.

2. When the bacon is done, don’t get all crazy and clean up your skillet. Don’t even drain the grease! Now it’s time to make the grilled onions for this delightful biscuit. Toss in a finely diced small onion and let it get all browned and yummy.
IMG_2396
If there’s a ton of grease, you can drain that off the onions later. You can remove them from the stove when it appears that they are done. Set them aside and let them cool.

3. Stir together 2 cups of flour, 3/4 teaspoon salt, and a heaping teaspoon of baking powder.
IMG_2394
When that is combined, cut in 1/4 cup shortening. And by shortening, I mean Crisco. I use the butter kind because I like it. This isn’t a huge amount of shortening, but it’s enough. You won’t think it is, but it is.
IMG_2395
(This is the most unattractive photo of my hand EVER! And notice that brown spot on my wrist? Totally a cooking burn scar. A friend told me the other day that judging from the scars on my arm he’d think I was into self harm if he didn’t know me better. I just replied that I’m clumsy.)

4. In a separate bowl (or measuring cup, in my case) whisk together 10 tablespoons of milk (I usually use some skim milk and some heavy cream), 4 tablespoons of vegetable oil, and 1 egg.
IMG_2397

5. Here’s where you need to crumble or chop up your bacon and shred a heaping cup of sharp cheddar cheese. You can also just use the bagged shredded cheese.

6. Add the liquid to the dry ingredients. Mix/toss until just combined, then stir in the bacon, onions, and cheese.
IMG_2398

7. Spoon into well greased muffin cups (I used the mini muffin size) and bake at 375 degrees for about 20-25 minutes.
IMG_2399

8. Enjoy!
IMG_2401

Ingredients:
10 slices bacon
1 small onion, finely diced
2 cups flour
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
1 egg
10 tablespoons milk
4 tablespoons vegetable oil
1/4 cup shortening

7 thoughts on “Bacon-y, cheesy goodness to warm hard hearts: Bacon, grilled onion, and cheddar biscuits”

  1. I love these things! I think a pepper of some sort would be delicious in it, a little spicy kick. But that’s just me being me with my love for spicy food 🙂

  2. i thought the brown spot on your hand was my computer screen. thank you for the clarification! 🙂

    also, any breakfast-y thing from PW is the cat’s pajamas.

  3. I made them in a small muffin pan and it made 24 muffins and 4 big muffins. They are yummy!

    Are you guys getting to come to the youth workers conference in Nashville next week? If so, I’ll see you there! 🙂

Leave a Reply

