People are weird

There, I said it. People are weird.

(Please know that I include myself in this category. I mean, come on! How could I NOT?)

Here are a few reasons I’ve come to this conclusion:

• The guy I saw on my way to work this morning. Apparently, his favorite form of exercise is to run around his driveway like a wild man as fast as he possibly can. The driveway isn’t very big. I hope he figures out that if he broadens his path a bit, he can actually go for a run that doesn’t involve 400 turns.

• When people meet/see someone they admire, they sometimes become awkward and strage. Read my friend Brandy’s story of seeing Patty Griffin on a plane. And if I could, I’d show you the numerous pictures I tried to take of myself “with” Ron Block this weekend. I use “with” because mostly I’m grinning wildly in the foreground and he’s somewhere in the background. Yeah.

• People do strange things in drive-thrus. I went through the drive-thru at Dairy Queen last night to get a friend and I some ice cream. Let’s just say that Dairy Queen was a bit of a cultural experience. About 400 people appeared to get a yearning for ice cream at 9 p.m. last night and the staff wasn’t handling it well. Then, there was the dude in front of me. Who for some unknown reason turned his truck completely OFF every time he had to sit for awhile. Which meant every time the car in front of him moved, he had to restart the truck before he could move. I’m not sure why he did this. I hope he didn’t think it would save gas, because I’m pretty sure he burned up a lot of gas starting and re-starting so much in that amount of time.

• People remark on the most obvious things and sometimes because it’s SO obvious, there’s no response you can give that won’t sound dumb. Example? Yesterday, my entire department learned the results of our Meyers-Briggs assessments. A member of my project team came to me later and said, “We’re like total opposites!” I wanted to say, “It took you THIS long to figure THAT out?” Apparently what was obvious to me wasn’t to my coworker.

Oh well. Embrace your weirdness today. But not TOO much. 😉

3 thoughts on “People are weird”

  1. My husband and I are almost opposites. I’m ESTP, he’s INTJ – though I say his “I” had to be borderline. He’s pretty outgoing. As a company (full of scientists and engineers) we are like 80% Introverted….fun office 🙂

  2. i would like to request these pictures of you with Ron Block be posted so that we on the internet can inspect them. was he on stage or something? He seems like a pretty nice guy, I’m sure he would have obliged.

    also, the dude at DQ probably knew his truck died if he let it sit idle for too long, so maybe that’s why he turned it off each time. he probably burned MORe gas doing that though.

  3. Maybe to the pictures. They’re not very good pics of me and I must preserve my image!

    That might explain the DQ dude. That and the fact that he was weird. . . .

Leave a Reply

