Bleh

I had a really good Fourth of July.

I was up around 7 a.m. making a peach cobbler. I went to church, had lunch at a favorite Mexican restaurant with friends, came home, changed clothes, took a nap, got up, warmed the cobbler and went to the cookout.

I ate way too much, played weird games with friends, sang some really high notes, ate some homemade ice cream, watched some fireworks, and lost at Apples to Apples three times. I drank a lot of soda, wished for some coffee, and came home with a smile on my face, excited about my day off and the prospect of sleeping in.

But my mind was going 100 miles an hour and I couldn’t really sleep. I tossed and turned, found the cool spot on the pillow, and dozed, but I never feel into that deep sleep I wanted. Finally, around 4:15 a.m. I took some ibuprofen for a sort of headache and slept deeply for about 4 hours. I stayed in bed an hour after that, but it was just dozing.

So my last day of the long weekend isn’t starting quite as planned. But all things will indeed be well. I’m going to try for a short nap and then I’m going over to a friend’s house to hang out at the pool.

With sunscreen. We’re not recreating the CMA Fest sunburn again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

