Nightmare on Hickory Glade Drive

Let’s just get this out there: I have weird dreams.

I mean quirky little dreams involving arresting your high school cheerleading coach, being a detective, or this weird dream I once had about cell phones and a cruise. The point you should get from all of this is that I usually don’t have bad dreams. I don’t have nightmares where I’m running from someone I can’t see. I have NEVER had that show-up-someplace-important-naked dream. Never. I don’t dream about monsters or ghosts or anything of the sort. Lately, the closest I came to having a nightmare was a dream I had in which my dog kept running away from me and I never could get close enough to catch her and woke up feeling helpless and hopeless.

But last night, I had not one, but two, bad dreams. It wasn’t cool.

First, I had a terrible dream about my brother, sister-in-law, and nephew. They’d been in a car accident and we were getting the call. And all the person kept saying was, “They’re all gone, Mandy. They’re all gone.”

That shook me awake and I almost called my brother at 3 a.m. just to hear his voice. I have no idea why I would dream that and it still makes me cry. After I calmed myself back down and told myself over and over that it was just a dream, I went back to sleep and didn’t wake up until my alarm went off. But when it did, I was dreaming that I’d gone to a Staples (I mean, really? I keep dreaming about office supplies) with my friends Mindy and Rachel. When we came back out, a pickup truck had driven onto my car. It was just sitting there, the front tires on the trunk of my car and my car was destroyed. (I’m not sure how.) And the other driver was initially just sitting in his car, but eventually, in dream-like fashion he disappeared and the dream became about a hit and run accident (but he left the truck?) and me being overwhelmed as I talked with the police in the parking lot.

I have no idea why I would have those two dreams in a row. But I definitely plan to eat actual food for dinner tonight, ease off on the caffeine, and hope that no dreams of the sort come into play tonight!

3 thoughts on “Nightmare on Hickory Glade Drive”

  1. so it was LITERALLY a hit and run? haha.

    i haven’t had any interesting dreams lately. the one where i was with my uncle and i was using an orange credit card while on the run from the authorities was a while ago.

  2. Yep. Who knows where those dreams came from.

    An orange credit card? On the run from the law? That sounds like a fun dream. At least you could laugh at it when you woke up!

Leave a Reply

