Good intentions

Well, we all know all about good intentions. That the road to certain places is paved with them. That they don’t amount to much unless they’re followed up with action. That most of the time we have good intentions that simply stay that: something you intended to do but never quite found the time to complete.

And I, dear readers, had good intentions for today’s post. Oh, yes. Early this morning, I heard there was a fatal car accident on I-65 near where I usually get off the interstate to go to work. I quickly ran through my get-to-work options and chose to drive into the city the long way, my actual favorite way, because it spits you out onto Broadway at 2nd Avenue and you get to drive past all the honky tonks and Lower Broad attractions before they’re official awake for the day. There’s something poetic about seeing them all that way, something beautiful about watching a city wake up.

That post was going to be all kinds of great. I was going to wax eloquent. To philosophically reflect on how I was driving on streets that had been flooded a week before. To talk about the clean-up and restoration and how God restores.

But that, my dear readers, wasn’t meant to be. Because everyone else in Nashville seemed to have taken that route into downtown. And part of 2nd Avenue is still closed because even though the water has receded, there’s still a lot of clean-up that has to happen when a building has been flooded nearly up to the awnings on the windows (i.e. Joe’s Crab Shack, which I would have driven by. Here’s a pic of it last Monday.)

So, instead of a leisurely drive up Broadway watching the city start to bustle and the neon lights start to come on, I got to snake through one way streets, streets that were cordoned off for clean-up vehicles, and dodge orange traffic cones, then cut across to Broadway on a cross street. Was it a little disconcerting and frustrating when I was already running a little late? Yes. Did I really mind? No.

The clean up and rebuilding we’ve got to do in Nashville is a big job. I’m happy there are people working to restore damage to the symphony, restaurants, and other locations on Lower Broad. I’m excited to see the city pull together the way it has and nearly burst with pride at our newly adopted (but not overly original) catchphrase: We are Nashville. I am joyful and thankful for the way churches and believers have reached out in the name of Christ to help neighbors and strangers. And today’s detour was a reminder that we’ve got a long way to go. I don’t see the damage every day. I don’t necessarily see the clean up efforts on my way home or in my drives through my neighborhood. But I need to remember that there are people in this very city who are in need.

So, I had good intentions for this post this morning, but along with me, it took a little detour.

Leave a Reply

