Citrus Roasted Chicken

I’m going to admit it: I LOVE those rotisserie chickens you get at the grocery store. So yummy and flavorful.

But you know what? You can cook similar tasty meals at home on your own.

Yep, that truth blew me away, too.

A few weeks ago, I saw that whole chickens were on sale at (the) Kroger for 79 cents a pound. I thought I’d pick one up and find something to do with it. I decided to roast it and find all kinds of interesting ways to eat it. Think about it: roasted chicken, roasted chicken sandwiches, roasted chicken on salads, roasted chicken salad, roasted chicken tacos. . . .kind of reminded you of “Forest Gump” right there, didn’t I?

Anyway, here’s how I made my own citrus roasted chicken. You can do it!

1. Introduce yourself to the chicken. You’re going to get to know each other VERY well in a bit. Wash the chicken, remove the icky stuff in the plastic bag that’s stuffed in your chicken, and pat the bird dry.
IMG_2078

2. Start working on your rub/marinade. Combine a 1/2 cup of olive oil, the juice of one lemon, 2 tsp fresh rosemary, 1 tsp fresh thyme, and about 1 tbsp of lemon zest in a small bowl. Whisk together. (And if you can’t find your whisk because it’s in the dishwasher, just use a fork and sing “Whip It” while beating the whole thing into a frenzy.)
IMG_2079IMG_2080IMG_2081IMG_2082IMG_2083

3. Next, rub that stuff all over the chicken. Pretend you’re applying suntan lotion or something. You can even rub some under the skin if you want. Add salt and pepper to your liking. (You and the chicken are now dating exclusively, though.)
IMG_2085

4. Gather your aromatics. I used one medium white onion, quartered; one lemon, and a generous amount of thyme that I didn’t chop or anything. You’re not going to eat these items, so chopping them finely really isn’t a big issue. But what am I going to do with these aromatics?, you ask. You’re going to stuff them in the nether regions of your chicken. Yep. You and the chicken will be married by the end of this process. I also like to pour a wee bit of chicken stock into the cavity and/or pan, too, just to add a little more moisture. And, no, I didn’t take a picture of the stuffing process since I felt like that invaded the chicken’s privacy. But I did take one of the aromatics:
IMG_2084

5. Pop that baby in the oven. Make sure you’re cooking it breast side up. (My picture may show my chicken the wrong way. I fixed it!)
I preheated my oven to 450 degrees and let the chicken cook at that temp for about 30 minutes, then lowered it to 375 degrees. Leave the chicken and the oven alone for about an hour to an hour and 15-20 minutes.
IMG_2086

6. Then, dance for joy when you pull the beautiful roasted chicken from the oven.
IMG_2087

See, you CAN do this!

Ingredients:
1 whole chicken
1/2 cup olive oil
2 lemons
2 tsp fresh rosemary
2 tsp fresh thyme
1 tbsp of lemon zest
1/4 cup chicken stock
1 medium onion, chopped
salt and pepper to taste

Leave a Reply

