The longest week ever

I’m not going to lie. This week has been long. Like LOOOOOONG.

Like long with six o’s long.

Let’s just remember a little of what has happened in this week. Let’s remember the getting up at 4:15 a.m. on Monday and being at the airport by 5:45 a.m. Let’s remember the flight to Dallas, then Sacramento on Monday and the reverse of that trip on Tuesday. Let’s remember a focus group on Monday night and a short stay in a hotel at which I woke up at 4:45 a.m. and couldn’t really go back to deep sleep after that. Let’s remember the way it feels to get up at 5 a.m. and go to work on Wednesday after all of that (which, mind you, isn’t something I’d describe with rosy, pretty adjectives). Let’s remember how at some point on Wednesday afternoon you become convinced that it is actually MUCH later in the week. Let’s remember choir practice on Wednesday night when you feel like curling up in bed. Let’s remember trying to figure out what you’re supposed to be doing on Thursday and the afternoon sinking spell. Let’s remember falling asleep watching “Project Runway” and having to rewind to see who won. (Yay, Seth Aaron!) Let’s remember 5 a.m. this morning and the decision to forget running for the day, which actually means the week. (Don’t worry. Running and I will reunite next week. I promise.)

So, yeah, this week has been long. And I’m tired. One of my friends in high school used to tell me to take vitamins and drink orange juice because I was always tired. I do both of those things now, and I’m still tired. And I have noticed that I do seem to get tired-er than other people in these kinds of situations. Maybe it’s because they know how to rest and I tend to run from one thing to the next. Like last night when I could have rested, but instead spent the night doing laundry and ironing because I know my weekend is already full and I won’t do it on Sunday afternoon.

Yesterday, I got an email asking me why I wasn’t attending a banquet thing that’s taking place tonight. My answer was probably a little more blunt than I would have been in a more refreshed state. “I’m tired,” I wrote. “This week has been a whirlwind of travel, work, housework, being everywhere people have told me I have to be, and I’m tired.” I do feel badly for missing the event, but there’s nothing I want more to just be at home, in my pajamas, and resting. I realize that some people are energized by constant activity, but I’m not. I’m one of those people who need to be at home sometimes. Who need to have no plans and no one expecting them to do or be something. I need to rest.

And I’m going to tonight.

I’ll be a nicer person on Saturday that way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

