Dispatches

It’s SPRING! I mean, like SPRING spring. Like warmer temps, blue skies, blooming flowers, and slight allergy issues. I mean like spring with dresses without pantyhose, dreams of pedicures, and a desire to plant flowers that will die at some point in the middle of July when it’s way too hot.

You know you do it, too.

But anyway, even in the midst of my spring fever, I’m writing some “Dispatches” for you people. Because that’s just the kind of person I am.

• I don’t have to work tomorrow! Yay! I’m going to go out on a limb here and tell you something that I’ve only just realized: Easter is about my favorite season of the year. I love Holy Week. I love the pondering and praying, reading and thinking, crying and mourning. And I love the joy of Easter. And I love that I work for a Christian organization and get Friday off. I need to sleep a little, I think.

• I really don’t have any big plans for tomorrow other than the sleeping, possibly some cleaning or laundry, or maybe some shopping and/or a pedicure. I’m also thinking about running in the morning. Yes, I have lost my mind.

• The other day, I called my parents and my mom said my brother had been asking if I was coming home for Easter. I don’t think I’ve been home for Easter since I’ve lived in Nashville, so I don’t know where that came from. She said they were all lonesome. As weird as it sounds, it’s good to know that there are people who get lonesome for you.

• I found out this week that I’m going to California for work later this month. For about a day. Yep. A day. I’ll leave early on April 19, fly to Sacramento, drive to the church for the focus group, do the focus group and fly out around noon the next day. Yes, this is my life. I’m seeing a lot of the country on fast trips where I experience nothing in the actual location. 😦 I tell you what: I’m going back to Portland, Oregon, someday and I am going to have a grand ole time. I may even try to meet Donald Miller, just to say I did. I’m definitely having coffee.

• Coffee reminds me of that focus group trip when my magazine team cut me off from all caffeine. It doesn’t matter that basically all I’d had to drink that day were cafe Americanos and mochas and pretty much all I’d eaten was airport restaurant food and pastries from Starbucks. It doesn’t matter that I was jittery and talking 90 to nothing. They cut me off! I had strict instructions to eat actual food at dinner and to drink water or Sprite. I must have been a little scary.

• The terrorist bombings in Moscow this week have upset me a little, mostly because I’ve been to Moscow and I’ve ridden on that subway. Pray for that country when you think about it, and not just about the terrorism. Pray for the people and the Christians who are there and seeking to reach out. There’s a heaviness and hopelessness in Russia that I’d never experienced anywhere else. We’re getting ready to celebrate Easter and many Russian people need the hope of Easter in their lives.

• I’ve joined the Mocha Club, which is an organization which allows you to give to causes that help people in need in Africa. Many musicians and churches give through the Mocha Club and you can give as little as $7 a month, which is the estimated cost of two mochas a month. I felt the urge to get involved with Mocha Club because of a Bible study I’m doing about being more aware of how we as believers are supposed to be involved in the social justice. Not long ago, I was doing research for work and came across a stat that many people in the world live on $1.25 a day and I spend money like it’s water. I decided to give up stuff in my life that would allow me to save $1.25 a day and give that money to some sort of ministry. Mocha Club is what jumped out at me. I’m on Addison Road’s (a Christian band) team and it is in support of women and children at risk. Read more about it here and join my team here. (Also, I am also a big fan of Compassion International, particularly because of the way they do ministry and the fact that I know the child I sponsor is learning about Jesus and that I am encouraged to talk about faith with her. If you’d like to be involved with Compassion, go here.)

That’s all for today. I hope you all have a blessed day. And as Claire said in Elizabethtown, I hope you get lost in “the beautiful melancholy” of this Easter season. Remember and mourn on Friday. Wait, ponder, mourn, and remember as Friday stretches into Saturday and Saturday fades into Sunday. Then, celebrate with joy. Christ is alive! And He has made all the difference.

4 thoughts on “Dispatches”

  1. Dispatches aren’t supposed to make me cry, Mandy!! And yes, even though I don’t comment very often, I still read every day. 🙂 Love you!!!

  2. Well, you know, I do what I can. It is my goal to make everyone else in the world cry as much as I do. 🙂
    Love you, too, Janicita Juanita! I hope you and the fam have a blessed Easter, especially since the girls know Jesus this year!

  3. 1) It’s great to work for a smaller company that gives us Good Friday off!
    2) I have no plans either. Sleep will be a big component though.
    3) My parents and Christina keep asking when I’ll be in Somerset again. I think I need to just go. And yes, it is nice to know someone wants you around.
    4) I have friends in the Portland area, one co-owns a coffee shop.
    5) You are scary with lots of caffeine in your system.
    6) Doesn’t it tear at your heart when you hear of tragedy in a part of the world you have visited? I think that is a reason people should visit places, it creates a personal connection.
    6) Totally getting hammered by the Spirit about my spending habits…and lack of budgeting.

    I knew you would appreciate the numbered responses 🙂

  4. You do need to go to Somerset. I say so. And what I say goes. But I will miss you.

    Portland was beautiful. . . from the car and the plane. Must go back!

    The over-caffeination was particularly scary this time because I felt so weird. Jittery. Had some nausea. Not a good feeling.

    Pedicures. . . .you know you want one. . .

Leave a Reply

