Weekend in Rewind

Sometimes, it helps to look back on the things you’ve written to remember the ways God has worked in your life. That’s why I picked this week’s Weekend in Rewind post: I needed to be reminded. I needed to hear these words just as much today as I needed to hear them back in March 2007 when I first wrote this post. Back then, I called it “A Moment.” I pray that God uses these words to speak to you today!

I had a moment today. Before you start laughing at me, it wasn’t one of those crying-my-eyes-out, Hallmark-commercial moments. It was a God moment.

As a Christian, I believe that God can speak to my heart a number of ways. His Holy Spirit can guide my understanding as I read the Bible or listen to a message. I’ve heard God in the prayers of friends, random conversations, and glimpsed Him in smiles and tears. But I also believe that sometimes God speaks. Not in a booming James Earl Jones voice, but softly, quietly and straight to my heart and conscience. There are those moments in my life that I know without a shadow of a doubt that God was speaking to me. And that’s the kind of moment I had today.

I work at a Christian organization. We have devotions every Monday morning at 7:45 a.m. Usually, I’m too tired to really participate. But today, when one of my coworkers started talking about worry, for some reason, I knew to pay attention. And as she read the words of Matthew 6:25, I heard God’s voice. “I’m going to take care of you,” He said.

Many of you may not know it, but I’ve just been having a tough time spiritually lately. I’ve been very discontent with my life because it just seems like everything I truly want—a family, a husband, someone to share my life with—seems so far away. And I can’t make those things happen. All around me, it seems like people are getting my dream. I have friends who are getting married; a former pastor’s daughter IM’d me to tell me that see was getting married in May. And instead of being happy for her, I found myself in a fit of jealousy, wondering why it was her and not me. I’ve spent I don’t know how much time just being discontent and worried that what I want will never happen, what could go wrong if it by chance did come to reality, what the rest of my life is going to be like if what I want doesn’t come to be.

I still don’t know the answers to those things, but I do know that God will take care of me. He promised to, and He doesn’t go back on His promises!

Leave a Reply

