Snow, Snow, where for art thou, Snow?

Today, dear readers, is off to an auspicious start. I forgot my badge. I therefore had to call security to get through the security gate on the roof parking lot. Apparently, I do not say my name clearly. Cars backed up behind me. I couldn’t actually get in the building until some other employee came along, gave me the look, and said archly, “No badge?” After getting to my office, I read an email about a coworker not coming in today because her heat isn’t working and she has to stay home and wait for the repairman. Except I read “heat” as “heart” and wondered why in the world she was waiting for a repairman and not going to the hospital.

Sigh.

So I’m wearing the badge of embarrassment and I have no one to blame. Except myself, which who in the world would want to do that? I’d blame Snow, but that’s kind of hard since he didn’t even show up for our restful day together.

Which gets me to the topic of today’s post: Snow. My on-again, off-again relationship with Snow’s cousin, Rain, is well documented on this blog. But, in Rain’s defense, as far as my weather/season boyfriends go, he’s probably been one of the more faithful ones. Winter and I broke up awhile ago. Summer has character flaws I can’t see past (mostly humidity), and Ice and I hate one another.

But Snow. Let me tell you about Snow. As previously stated, Snow is Rain’s cousin. He’s got an air of mystery and slight danger around him. He breezes into town and disappears as quickly as he came. He’s brilliantly beautiful, but cold and hard to get close to. And worst of all, he’s fickle.

Snow was supposed to show up today and blanket middle Tennessee in his beauty. He seems to have gotten as far as Kentucky and decided they are more fun to hang out with. I had my doubts about Snow actually showing up, seeing as I’ve been disappointed by him before. I even expressed my doubt in Snow by telling coworkers I’d bet them money he wouldn’t show up, while hoping secretly that he would. That it would snow, snow, snow, and work would magically be canceled and I’d stay at home and sleep late, then putter around in my pajamas and make chili and grilled cheese sandwiches. I realize that this dream isn’t rooted in any sort of reality and Snow can’t rightly be blamed for my disappointment because of that, but still.

Oh, well. There’s still a slight chance Snow could show up in force a little later this afternoon, but I’m not getting my hopes up. 😉

P.S.
Is it bad that I sort of hope all those Metro teacher friends who posted joyously about their snow day on Facebook have to make it up on a wonderfully beautiful day that I have off from work? But seeing that the next official holiday we get off here at work is Good Friday, I’m thinking the revengeful part of me won’t get the satisfaction of that.

P.P.S.
Also, did you guys see that Ivy League school Cornell (AKA the alma mater of Andy Bernard on “The Office”) almost beat Kansas last night? If I had woken up in a world in which Kansas had been beaten, I wouldn’t have minded that Snow didn’t show up. But mark my words, people: Kansas is not unbeatable. And I don’t say that because they’re sort of my arch-enemy.

5 thoughts on “Snow, Snow, where for art thou, Snow?”

  1. One of my coworkers got to work at 6 am yesterday in order to make up time for not being here today in case of snow. I told her it was completely unfounded and that we’d be fine today. And I was right – which oddly doesn’t make me happy – I want snow!!!

  2. OK, that’s funny. And sad. And ridiculous! I thought you might actually get snow out where you live, but alas, the storm went north. Which I just have to say, I predicted. 😉

  3. Um, yes. But that’s just Snow doing whatever he wants, whenever he wants with no consideration for others. And my car is parked on the roof, so bleh.

    In other news, I think Upward practice is canceled.

Leave a Reply

