Dispatches

It’s Wednesday! It’s “Dispatches” Day.

Admit it: you woke up thinking about that, didn’t you? Oh, you didn’t? Hmm. Well. I feel a little awkward now.

But whether or not you woke up eagerly expecting a new edition of “Dispatches” this morning doesn’t really matter. Even if you woke up thinking by chance maybe I wouldn’t write “Dispatches” today, it’s what you’re getting. So, man up and deal with it.

• For the second time in the last few months, I had a disturbing dream in which I was somehow in danger. Not long ago, I dreamed that someone was trying to shoot me in an empty ampitheater, but the gun was out of bullets. Last night I dreamed that someone broke into a room I was staying in and attacked me. I have not been watching creepy things on TV. I do not know where these dreams are coming from, but I really wish they’d go away. I never used to dream scary stuff!

• So, my hair looks pretty bad today. It’s oddly freeing to admit that.

• THE ANDREW PETERSON CHRISTMAS SHOW IS TOMORROW NIGHT! Squeal! Dinner with friends, a good show, a cold night, with a good weekend ahead. These are the bright spots in an otherwise lackluster week.

• This morning in my kitchen, I got a little overwhelmed by everything I’m trying to get done at work today. I’m tired. Tired in my bones. Tired of people telling me what to do and how I need to do my job (said person does this out of a desire to help, but it makes me want to punch him/her in the mouth). Tired of always being behind. Tired. Tired. Tired.

• Sometimes, I get obsessed by a song and kind of play it over and over and over. I do try to temper this a bit, knowing it can be annoying to those in the offices next to mine or in the car with me. Current obsessed-over songs are “Goodnight/Goodbye” by Will Hoge and “Christmas Time” by Andy Davis. The latter is mostly because Andy talks about being lonely at Christmas, and I’m feeling a little sad this year. I miss my Grandma Polly a lot right now and I miss the way my Grandma Ruby used to be on Christmas. And I’m quite familiar with being the only singleton in family gatherings full of married people. (I don’t say any of that to make anyone feel sorry for me, because I don’t feel sorry for myself. I’m just being honest and owning up to the feelings.)

• A week from today, I’ll go Christmas caroling at nursing homes with my family and some members of my home church, then watch the Mizzou-Illinois Braggin’ Rights basketball game on TV. I hate the Illini. A lot.

That’s enough for today. I have to get to work. Christmas XOXO to you all!

4 thoughts on “Dispatches”

  1. The Christian Women’s Job Corps. They actually have classes where they teach women things, like word processing and stuff, they’d need to get jobs. I’ve thought about volunteering.

Leave a Reply

