This changes everything.

I work on a magazine. We all know that.

Magazines have deadlines, right? We all know that, too.

Because of a lot of factors, the mag I edit is running behind as far as our production schedule goes. I’ve actually stopped looking at the production schedule because truly, it only mocks me. But the fact is, we have to get an issue done before Friday. And as this week progresses, that is seeming less and less likely to me.

Friday was the deadline. . . until yesterday when a team member informed me she had to have it early on Thursday afternoon. I don’t know if she realized I never responded. Because, frankly, I don’t know if it’s possible. And there’s a part of me that really, really dislikes how I should edit and when I should have things done. Because shifting that date, even by as little as it was, really messes everything up.

But here’s the deal: I have other obligations and things I want to do this week. And I’m doing them. I’m not staying here all hours of the night. I’m not taking work home. I’m not going to worry about it. I’ve got other things to think about and fun things to look forward to.

So, I hope we meet this deadline. Maybe I should be more worried about what would happen if we missed it, but I’m pretty much refusing to care at this point.

(Note: I don’t recommend apathy. It’s generally not a good idea. But I refuse to get upset and overwrought about this deadline. And that’s just the way it’s going to be!)

5 thoughts on “This changes everything.”

  1. I’ve had to stop coming in early, stop working through lunch to show how much stuff I don’t have time to get done. Now, this has been a bit of an anxiety builder because I didn’t know how my boss would respond to things not getting done.

    She is now seeing how much stuff I down right don’t have time for anymore. She has recently taken a big load off my plate and given it to the new receptionist…new people get abused 😉

    Even with that gone, yesterday was insane! I didn’t take my full lunch because I knew that would result in me not being done by 5. Well, I still was not done by 5. Maybe one day, my boss will add a person to my department. Every other department has seen growth in numbers since I started there…but not mine.

    I totally understand! Don’t forgo the rest of your life to get the mag edited and to the printers. Maybe…maybe…the powers that be will soon see the need for more workers.

Leave a Reply

